Some Post-It-Note Holders

A friend of mine, who lives in Joplin, Missouri, has requested that I make Post-It-Note Holders for him to give as Christmas gifts to his family and friends.

I’ve been working on these since Sunday and have made pretty good progress, so far.  There are large empty spaces that are being left to hold the name of the person he wishes to have placed on the holder.  These are all sports related and are masculine.  I have five of them finished.  Each base is 7″ x 7″ with the Post-It-Note pad placed near the bottom right corners.

I need to begin the feminine sets as well and I have some papers I’m really itching to get my hands on from Graphic 45.

SKIING:

Ski themed

Ski themed

I have attached resin boots, skis, and poles to the bottom left using E6000 adhesive.  These were originally buttons but I cut the shanks off.  There is wire mesh ribbon around the flap of the Note Holder with a sticker backed on chipboard attached to the front of the pad.

The papers, stickers, and resin items were purchased from Scrap Your Trip if you are interested in these items.

I have used Tim Holtz Glossy Accents and Stampin’ Up! Dazzling Diamonds on the snowflake stickers to give them dimension, texture, and sparkle.  You can see them at the top left of the holder.

Glossy accents and glitter over a sticker

Glossy accents and glitter over a sticker

Glossy Accents atop sticker

Glossy Accents atop sticker

HUNTING:

More papers and stickers from Scrap Your Trip for this hunting themed holder.  It also measures 7″ x 7″.  Most of the stickers have been adhered to chipboard and cut out using a craft knife.  I have attached some brown and orange ribbon on the left side of this holder.

Hunting themed holder

Hunting themed holder

GOLF:

The stickers on this Golf themed holder are the only thing I’ve used from Scrap Your Trip.  The papers are from my stash and from Club Scrap.  Wait, I do have paper from SYT…it is the grass paper.  The big plastic “Golf” piece I found at Big Lots.  This holder has a bit of ribbon on it also.

Golf themed holder

Golf themed holder

FISHING:

The fishing themed holder has both papers and stickers from SYT.  I enlisted the aid of Joe to attach the fishing lures to wire.  They now wiggle :D.  The lures are stickers I attached to chipboard and cut out with a craft knife.  I punched holes and added eyelets.  These are hanging on the Post-It-Note cover.

Fishing themed

Fishing themed

This is Joe, winding the wire “perfectly” with his drill.  He never ceases to amaze me with the things he can do with his tools 🙂 and help me out.  Am I lucky or what?

Twisting the wire

Twisting the wire

FOOTBALL:

The final holder I have finished is a Football Theme.  The paper is from SYT (Scrap Your Trip) and only one of their stickers I have used.  Attached it to chipboard and cut it out, the one with the flaming football flying through the air in the bottom left.  The other two stickers are from Big Lots and are plastic see through type.

I needed some help from Joe for football terms.  I made the piece on the note pad flap using a desktop publishing program and jamming the words together in a “box” shape.  I had to reduce the size down quite a bit.  I’ve put my shoulder out of joint patting myself on the back for this idea :D.

Football themed

Football themed

I have “signed” each one on the back of the holder with my special signature 🙂

My signature

My signature

It is so small I had to draw your attention to it.  Yes, I’m showing off 🙂

My sign

My sign

I sure do hope Tim likes these holders.  I’ve got several more to make.  I had to go to Budget Box and Bag to purchase more flat cardboard to use as the holder base.  The assembly line part works well in getting the bases made.  Personalizing the fronts takes a bit longer but I’m getting faster at it.

Check your stash and see what you can come up with as handmade gifts this Christmas.  Have fun creating.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 20:57:33

    My sticky note holders go to bed at night and can only DREAM of looking as fantastic as yours! Love them! Great work!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 16:41:39

    Leslie at last I am here. I am slowly catching up with all your posts but can’t reply to your other blog at the moment as my connection is so slooooooowwwww! Will come back tomorrow 🙂
    Love these ones you have done and you deserve to pat yourself on the back. They are unique and superbly executed as usual. Your friend should be over the moon with delight. Well done my friend 🙂

    Love and (gentle) hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 18:21:45

      Thank you, Lynn 🙂

      I saw your message to Shelly. My poor friend 😦 I had no idea you were afflicted with brittle bones 😦 I guess I just assume you are like me (think I’m indestructible). Good grief. I know, only too well, the pain of broken ribs, courtesy of my girls father. Yikes, then reading about your foot and ankle being broken and you waited the entire weekend for medical help. I bet Rod was beside himself.

      Girlfriend, you are one hell of a tough cookie 🙂

      I’m further sorry to hear of your poor tired and barking dogs (your feet) but I’m thrilled to hear that Ruth’s items were selling well at the craft fair. A bit of Christmas money she now has jangling in her pockets 🙂 Aside from the aching feet I hope you enjoyed the time with Ruth and the people that you met at the fair.

      As for me, I’m having a blast putting these Post-It-Note Holders together. Ramming around in all the crap…oops I mean STASH I have has been interesting to say the least. Thank you again for your kind words.

      Tell Rod “Hello” from me and give him a hug around the neck from me also 🙂

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

