A Magical Santa Key

This report is coming to you from Oklahoma City.

As you know, this is the beginning of the Holiday season with Thanksgiving only days away.  Christmas will be a few short weeks later.

In my neighborhood there is a growing concern around Santa visiting homes this year.  Children on the streets have been seen gathering in little clusters.  The looks on their faces is one of concern, and could be interpreted as near fright.  My curiosity has gotten the better of me and I felt it necessary to see what the trouble is.

As I draw nearer to a small group of four children, who attend a local elementary school, I can hear part of the discussion.  It seems of the four only one child has a fireplace with a chimney.  The other three live in apartment buildings or mobile homes which do not have the requisite fireplace and chimney for Santa’s expected arrival.

One child is in tears as I approach the group.  When I ask if they need assistance the little girl who has been crying suddenly bolts from the group and runs away sobbing.  The three remaining children have their heads hung low and are moving towards one another in a group effort to support each other.

After a few moments of coaxing I finally draw out from a young boy what the problem is.  With the housing troubles the children’s families have had to move into homes with no chimneys.  No chimneys means no Santa visits this year.

All but one of the children will not be visited by Santa this year, it seems.  One boy had chosen to be the spokesperson for the group.  He has offered his home for the families to gather on Christmas Eve.  He knows that Santa knows where each child is when the toy deliveries are made and his home has a good fireplace and chimney for Santa to come.  He is sure it will be alright with  his parents if they all come and stay the night with him.

Three sets of eyes peered up at me for an answer to this problem.  Sadly, I had no fit answer to give them.  My heart went out to them as they all turned away and headed home with their heavy hearts.

What can I do?  How can I help?  What is the answer to this problem?

Just as the last child turned the corner and was out of view my cell phone rang.  It was Santa.  He had the answer to this problem.

It seems all that is needed is a very special key that will be hung from the door knob of the homes with no chimney.  This Magical Key will have to be long and shaped like the keys from long ago and only Santa can open the door of the home where it is hung.  Santa will be able to use that key to gain entry to the home, leave his presents, and just before he leaves the home….after eating a cookie of course…..he will leave the key hanging on the Christmas tree.

I have been asked, by Santa, to create the Magic Key.  When I asked for instruction on how to do this he only said “You will know what to do”.  Stumped, I returned home to find Joe and ask him what he thought I should do.

Joe and I went looking for very special keys.  We searched many stores before we finally found the right ones.  At least the type that fit Santa’s description of being “long and old”.

Skeleton key

Skeleton key

After we procured the proper keys I went into my studio and began the work of creating a very special key to be hung from the door knob, as Santa had mentioned.  Once Santa used the key to get in the home, he would then hang the key on the Christmas tree so the family would know he had been there.  This  means the key will need something to keep it around the door knob and be in plain sight for Santa when he comes to the child’s door.

Santa key

Santa key

The key tag is strung with a good strong corded ribbon to stay on the door knob just in case there are strong winds blowing on Christmas Eve.

Corded ribbon to hang from the door.

Corded ribbon to hang from the door.

Since I have never seen Santa in person and don’t know what he looks like I have had to rely on Tim Holtz for that.  I’ve used a Stampers Anonymous set titled Christmas Collection for the image of Santa.

I have flocked Santa’s coat and hat using the red and white flock from Doodle Bug Design.

Doodle Bug Design flock

Doodle Bug Design flock

Raised texture using the flock

Raised texture using the flock

To attach the key I’ve used Tim Holtz ball chain with clasp.  I’ve cut a length of the ball chain to allow the key to hang from the tag.  Decorative ribbons have been attached to the top of the key.

Ball chain and clasp

Ball chain and clasp

The Santa Key comes with a coordinating tag that can be used as a tree decoration also or as a gift tag.

Santa key and coordinating tag

Santa key and coordinating tag

The tag and key fob are signed by me on the back.

Signed by me

Signed by me

Key tag signed by me

Key tag signed by me

Now I need to get back into my room and create more of these Santa keys.  Keep watching this blog.  I will have a link to my Etsy store soon for you to purchase my handmade Santa Key and coordinating Tag.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 12:11:32

    Such a cute idea!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 20:48:46

    Brilliant idea 🙂 Is the fob made from a hotel/motel key card? Just love it.
    Where Kim and Joe live there is no chimney which is just as well as Kim was frightened to death about Santa coming into the house, she liked the idea of presents but no strange man was to come in so Ruth solved this by telling them that Father Christmas would quietly knock the door and hand the presents over to mummy and she would put them under the tree. We had to tell a similar tale to Ruth and Jill when they were little. They were horrified that a man would come down our chimney! It is surprising just how many children are in fact terrified of Father Christmas. The garden centre I worked at had a Christmas Grotto every year and the amount of screams that came from it were awful; the parents couldn’t understand how their child could be frightened of Father Christmas 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 19, 2011 @ 08:30:46

      Yes, indeed, Lynn. The key fob is made from the motel key card. Just the right bit of strength and stiffness….I hope anyway. And the keys get put to better use than just hanging around in a bucket 🙂

      I had to laugh at….“The garden centre I worked at had a Christmas Grotto every year and the amount of screams that came from it were awful; the parents couldn’t understand how their child could be frightened of Father Christmas”

      Everyone else makes a huge fuss over Santa and how excited they are but it is the little ones that make their opinions well known. I don’t know if they are frightened by the unfamiliar costume or being held by someone they don’t know.

      Poor Kimmie 😦 You know, I would have to agree with her assessment of the situation. One time of the year that we allow a stranger to come in our home while we are sleeping bears thinking about. Children have such literal minds. We adults have had that part of our imaginations tempered into submission 🙂

      Thank you Lynn for your support 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. jann
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 01:25:08

    Oh how I love this project! Gorgeous design…and a perfect gift to ease the mind of small children! You are a great storyteller! Love you…Jann

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 08:27:55

      Thank you Jann, high praise indeed coming from my “idol” 🙂

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family 🙂 I hope you all enjoy this special day with your friends and family. Set a place for your Dad so he can join in the festivities 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

