Working on a 2 page layout

I’ve had this whole entire day to play in my room.  Clear off the table and begin using the part of my brain that has atrophied over the past few months.

My daughter, Tiffany (the embalmer), has requested that I make an album for her.  Joe teases her and calls her “The Body Snatcher” because she used to go to hospitals, nursing homes, private homes, and funeral homes to pick up the bodies of those that have departed.  She has worked her way up in the ranks from the “body snatching” part to an embalmer, and a Funeral Director.  This is her passion and she is very good at it.  Not being a “people person” in the beginning she had a difficult time with the grieving family members.

Now she has acquired a box full of photos of the Funeral Homes she has visited and their grounds, thank you cards from families she has been instrumental in helping through the end of life process of their loved ones, and newspaper clippings.

When she first approached me with the request my brain froze.  What was I going to use to create a book for her?  What papers are available to take on this challenge?  At my local scrapbook store, Whole Lotta Scrap, I found a paper pack by DCWV titled “Street Lace” and this is turning out to be the most fun to work with.

First page in the 2 page layout

First page in the 2 page layout

Background paper :  DCWV Street Lace

Matte paper:  Stampin’ Up! More Mustard card stock

Focal paper:  Prima – The Printery

Tim Holtz Distress Stains:  Spun Sugar, Wild Honey, and Peeled Paint

Ribbon:  Stampin’ Up! Certainly Celery 5/8″ Satin

Fold out photo book:  Stampin’ Up! (a light pink I don’t remember the name), Stampin’ Up! light gray (don’t remember the name) card stock, and 7 Gypsies Lille papers.

Lady embellishment at top:  Graphic 45 Stickers mounted on Stampin’ Up! Basic Black card stock

Tag:  Covered with Prima Printery paper. Tim Holtz Locket Keys and Stampin’ Up! Elements of Style stamp sentiment “Life is a matter of moments”.

Ribbon on tag:  Both Stampin’ Up!; 1/4″ gross grain Basic Black, and 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie.

Feathers:  Fancy Feathers – Guinea Fluff Mix from Hobby Lobby

Crystal flourish:  Say It With Crystals from Hobby Lobby

The paper edges are inked with Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Walnut Stain

I think I’ve covered it all 😦

Here is a view of the completed page.

Completed page

Completed page

Using the Stampin’ Up! pink card stock I cut at 5″ x 12″ I scored it the long way at 4″ and 8″ to make the tri-fold booklet.  Stampin’ Up! gray card stock is cut at 4-3/4″ x 3-3/4″ and the corners are rounded with Stampin’ Up! Corner Rounder punch.  The decorative papers are from 7 Gypsies Lille 8×8 pad and cut to 4-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ with the corners rounded.  All papers are inked with the Walnut Stain ink.

The image on the top journal spot is from Graphic 45 Steam Punk Debutante.  The journal piece is  from an index card pack 3″ x 2-1/2″ from Office Depot.  The “Note” is a Stampin’ Up! stamp from the Notes and Details set.  I’ve used a piece of burlap I have from our “Day Job” and added Tim Holtz gears and sprockets.

Closer view of the journal spot

Closer view of the journal spot

The tag is chipboard.  I can’t remember if I have a Sizzix die for this or if I had purchased a pack of these tags.  Been too long.  The tag is covered with the Prima Printery paper and the edges are inked in Walnut Stain.  The key and lock are from Tim Holtz Locket Keys.  The key is tied with Stampin’ Up! Basic Black 1/4″ gross grain ribbon and 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie.  The sentiment is stamped on some light yellow textured card stock from Stampin’ Up! with inked edges (Walnut Stain) and the sentiment from Stampin’ Up! Elements of Style.  Don’t look too closely at it because you will see that I am not a good stamper.  Smudged and I have a tell tale rubber mark.  The punch is a Stampin’ Up! punch.  I can’t remember the name of it.  Is it any wonder why I have decided to no longer be a Stampin’ Up! Demo?!

Chipboard tag

Chipboard tag

 

Prima flower

Prima flower

This large flower is from Prima and starts out life as a creamy white color.  I used the En Francais stamp from Stampin’ Up! and Black Staz On ink to add a visual element to the flower then spritzed it with some of my “Home Made Shimmer/Glimmer Spritz” – Stampin’ Up! Cajun Craze.  The flower center is a Stampin’ Up! Fire Circle Brad in yellow.  The feathers beneath the flower are from Hobby Lobby – Fancy Feathers Guinea Fluff.

Crystal flourish

Crystal flourish

To dress up the bottom of the page I have attached a crystal flourish from Say It With Crystals I purchased from Hobby Lobby.

All in all, I’ve had a really fun day of creating.  I’ve sent photos of this page to Tiffany and she is excited and thrilled.  Tiffany is like me….not “girly girly”.  She has approved of this layout stating…and I quote….”Flowers and evrything u have chosen actually is perfect and totally peaceful, serene, funerial”.

Back to work tomorrow for another week or two before I am home for the winter and can really get totally involved with my crafting.

Hope you have enjoyed this trip through my head 🙂

Leslie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 11:49:58

    Lovely page Leslie. I think this is very feminine and love the flower and bling flourish . I am happy you got to play and make a special layout for your Daughter. Can’t wait to see wht you have to share when you get back to your crafty space. Take care and tell Joe Hello form us.

    Hugs and love,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 25, 2011 @ 13:09:45

      Thank you Shelly. As you well know, being able to spend time creating is almost like a “healing” process 🙂

      I forget how much fun it is to create and how zoned out I can get. Maybe this was so much fun because it had been so long since I was able to play with papers 🙂

      You know, Girlfriend, I’m very proud of you. Venturing into the big world outside via YouTube to share your expertise with total strangers :-). Yes Siree Bob, I’m busting my buttons proud of you 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

