Motel room keys…..

Open more than doors 🙂  They open your mind for crafting opportunities.

Motel room key

Motel room key

Back side of room key

Back side of room key

There was a major scare several years back about your personal information being placed on the magnetic strip of motel/hotel room keys.  Your name, address, and credit card information.  When we first heard this our paranoia kicked in and we didn’t turn the keys back to the front desk at check out.  Instead we brought them home to be shredded.

Over the years an idea had been trickling around in my head.  Today, really yesterday, that idea finally made it out of my head and into a craft project.

Tags from motel keys

Tags from motel keys

You can watch the video tutorial I made to create these tags.

If you have a key or two in a junk drawer or laying around on a table or desk you might want to give this a try.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 17:31:13

    Left a message for you over on Youtube, just think this is such an inspired idea and a great way to create wonderful works of art in miniature. When I first saw the title I had visions of you and Joe collecting tons of ‘proper’ motel keys. Here in the Uk many of our hotels and motels stll use ‘proper’ keys; don’t know if the larger London hotels use plastic keys. I’d love some of these please Leslie if you wouldn’t mind sending me some. Just lovely 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 18:08:06

      Thank you Lynn. I got your message and have responded 🙂

      I’d so love to see what you create with these little things. They are not the standard ATC size but fairly close. They are 2-1/8 by 3-3/8 in size.

      The US has quit using the standard keys because the guests went home with the keys all the time and the locks had to constantly be changed. Or someone would leave a key behind in a restaurant or bar and get a new one from the front desk. Later the hotel would find the room had been vandalized or a current guest had been burgled. Only the real old and ancient hotels still use keys for the rooms. We run into that about once every five years and in hotels far off the beaten path…like when we visited Pati in Tribune, Kansas. A very small town and out in the middle of no where.

      Oh, by the way. To see Shelly’s video you have to go to her YouTube channel – tachar. It is a cute, cute, cute little set up she has there. Her very own corner of the world 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 06:49:44

      I put five (5) of them in the mail to you yesterday….well, Joe did. He went to the post office for me. Anyway, they are on the way to you.

      Why only five you may ask, especially since I have a gazillion of them? Why so stingey? First, I didn’t know how many to send. I grabbed a fist full, about 25, and was all set to send them off to you. Immediately I had second thoughts on that amount. After waffling between sending a fist full and only a few I decided on the few. You let me know how many you would like to have and I’ll send more.

      I considered your comment about your craft items being put up in boxes, and I didn’t want to send so many to you that they create a problem for you. So I’m leaving the quantity up to you. You let me know how many you can handle.

      Now I no longer feel guilty about being stingey with the room keys.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 10:07:30

    Many thanks to you both for posting the motel keys to me. I didn’t have a set amount in my mind when I asked you for some so I am grateful for whatever I receive. If I can be cheeky and come back to ask for more..like Oliver …I hope that will be okay?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

