Long forgotten plastic template

I have been gathering items for many years.  Sadly, most of these items are stuffed away in notebooks, boxes, and drawers and forgotten about.

I have several Staedtler templates in a notebook.  I don’t remember where I purchased them from.  Most likely Michaels since that is the place I do most of my hunting for craft items.

I recently purchased the Graphic 45 Magic of Oz paper pack and have been working on creating a small bulletin board.  I needed something to represent the “Yellow Brick Road” and remembered that I had something that might work.

This is what I’ve come up with using yellow acrylic paint, Whisper White card stock, and the template.

Yellow Brick Road

Yellow Brick Road

The bulletin board is not finished.  My husband has sprayed it with a clear sealer and I’m waiting for it to fully dry before I do more to the front and cover the back with some thick craft paper.

Bulletin board

Bulletin board

I’ve created a video of using the template for this project.  There are so many uses for a plastic template of this type.

What do you have hiding away in your craft space?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 16:29:13

    I can’t wait to unpack all my crafting materials and go on a voyage of rediscovery 🙂 I know there are no stencils lurking amongst those materials as I gave what stencils I did have to Kimmy! Although I guess she would let me borrow them if I so wished.
    I’m not a great fan of Wizard of Oz or Alice in Wonderland (which also seems very popular) but love what you have done to make the bulletin board. Is this for a birthday gift?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 09:06:02

      I’m with you in the Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland. I was 12 before I first saw the Wizard of Oz and it scared the fool out of me and Alice in Wonderland gave me the creeps.

      I love the images and colors of the Graphic 45 papers. Takes the scary out of both of those classics. The bulletin board was a play around with the paper. It is not destined to be a birthday gift. I haven’t quite figured out what I’m going to do to finish it off but I have a few ideas rolling around in my brain.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

