Altered Momento Holder

Momento Holder

Momento Holder

This framed wooden box, with glass lid, is usually used to display a medal or service pins.

Shepherd Hills Outlet store in Lebanon, Missouri is a place we stop when we travel on I-44 in Missouri, either east or west.  Last September there was a three foot stack of these display boxes for sale.  Original price was $12.99 but I got it for $7.49.  I only bought one since I was not sure what I was going to do with it.  This holder has sat on a shelf in my room since then.

Front of altered medal box

Front of altered medal box

This is now the outside front of the box.

Glass front

Glass front

Inside of box

Inside of box

YES!!!  I’ve used flowers and GLITTER.  The glitter I will get to and it is some really stunning stuff.

Back of the box

Back of the box

This box has been specially made for the owner of Whole Lotta Scrap in Norman, Oklahoma – Leslie – who recently lost her husband.  I’m not a very good card maker – YET.

Some things I’ve learned in creating this box:

Twinkling H2O's

Twinkling H2O's

At Whole Lotta Scrap this product by Lumiarte can be purchased in single pots, in bottles of shimmer paint, or in this multiple pack.  Not having seen this product before I opted for the multiple pack.  It comes with a spritzer bottle which is used to wet the pots.

Notice the butterfly cut out I have circled in the orange red oval in the photo above.  This is what it looked like after I applied the Twinkling H2O’s.

Butterfly with Twinkling H2O's

Butterfly with Twinkling H2O's

Using a fine tipped paint brush to stir the water I spritzed into the pot of yellow I painted it on the plain butterfly.  It is translucent enough to allow the fine lines printed on the butterfly to show through while the glimmer and color show up vibrantly.  I used my heat tool to dry the yellow before I went on to adding the blue color.  I did not want the vibrant blue turning to green as you can see happening at the top edge of the butterfly wings.

The next thing I learned:

Tim Holtz Idea-ology Facets

Tim Holtz Idea-ology Facets

I have had the EK Success “Fresh Cuts” tag things for a really, really, really, long time.

Glossy Accents, Facets, and tag

Glossy Accents, Facets, and tag

The mistake I made was to put w-a-a-a-a-a-y too much Glossy Accents on the back of the Facet then press it down on the tag.  The Glossy Accents squeezed out of it like crazy.  In my attempt to get the excess glue cleaned up with a paper towel I smeared the Glossy Accents onto the Facet itself.

After I got the glue cleaned up I quickly saturated a cotton ball with alcohol and wiped the Facet clean of the Glossy Accents.  While the glue is still “wet” it can be successfully removed from the Facet using the alcohol without damaging the plastic surface and causing it to “fog” over.  I then left it as you see it for over an  hour to dry before trimming away the excess paper.

Facet hanging from tag

Facet hanging from tag

Once more I had to enlist the aid of my “Scrubby” to finish this project.

My "Scrubby"

My "Scrubby"

Joe was tasked with drilling a hole in the front frame to attach a cabinet door knob.  I needed a screw with a flat head so it could be safely covered by the glass and not break when installing.

Here is a photo montage of the process and products I’ve used in this project.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 10:30:00

    Great project! I’m amazed that you found those Sugar Rush Chipboard Shapes for $3! What a score!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 30, 2011 @ 14:31:25

      Big Lots had them near me. I’m so out of the loop on any of the new items that come and go. Unless I see it on Twitter for the companies I follow I have no idea what is out. Just scored the Graphic 45 Magic of Oz paper by calling Whole Lotta Scrap last month and having them order me a pack when it came available in June.

      4 more months before I will be able to dedicate time to crafting with no interruptions 🙂 So….what have YOU been up to lately?

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 17:52:29

    Lovely project Leslie. I love Twinkling H2Os, all those gorgeous colours and shimmeryness. Coincidentally I have been painting with my H2Os the last couple of days; There is a fete on at Kim’s school and I made a whole lot of paperclip bookmarks, I punched out circles of cardstock, stamped some animals, flowers or bugs onto the circles and then coloured the images with the H2Os and then had a very sticky time adhering the circles (2 per clip) to the paperclips with Glossy Accents. I had that stuff over fingers and thumbs and boy is it sticky!
    I think I have about 30 or so little pots and they last for soooooo long too!
    Have taken photos of the bookmarks so wil try and put them on my blog at the weekend.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 30, 2011 @ 19:31:38

      I had never heard of them before. I’m so out of touch of what is new and in. It feels really good to go into scrapbook stores and walk the aisles to see what is new.

      I’m looking forward to seeing the book marks you are making for the children’s school fete. I already know they will be totally awesome!!!!

      Glossy Accents is almost as bad as super glue to get off your fingers. Thank goodness NOT as bad as super glue but almost. I really like the Twinkling H2O’s because the colors are so vibrant and the sparkle is quite breath taking to behold. AND it can be applied lightly for a translucent color with the bright sparkle. You are right about having the pots for a long time. Not much added to a brush to have the awesome effect.

      I await your blog to see the work you’ve done. By the way….how is the wedding coming? Are you still up to your elbows in all of that or have things been pretty well sorted?
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Lynn Claridge
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 17:30:41

    Twinkling H2Os have been around for several years and then the lady who created them went out of business and we despaired that they would never return. I don’t know whether she sold out or was bought out or, even, if she found more money to restart again but they are back.

    The wedding plans are in their final stages and most things seem to be coming together including the huge surprise 🙂 The groom to be had to organise the transport and he has organised a pony and trap! Jill knows nothing about that and is starting to panic thinking she will end up travelling to her wedding in some clapped out old car 🙂
    Jill is a wonderful organiser and has pulled it all together very well.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

