It’s Child’s Play

Most places, here in the US, school is out for the summer.Β  If you might be looking for something to do with your children that is relatively inexpensive and will hold their attention for a while, plus have the added benefit of creativity I have a toy for you to play with along with the kids.

I’ve created a couple of card fronts that are in dire need of a sentiment and more embellishing but will do as a sample of how exciting this toy can be in your creative process πŸ™‚

Water based ink on cardstock

Water based ink on cardstock

Alcohol ink on glossy paper

Alcohol ink on glossy paper

Beware, this is a really messy process.Β  Inks will be spattered in all directions so newspaper, or some kind of protective layer of paper, spread about three times larger than the toy itself is recommended to protect your table top and carpets.

Spin & Splash

Spin & Splash

The Spin & Splash comes with four tubes of acrylic paint, two tubes of glitter glue, and four empty tubes to be filled with the colored sand included.Β  Two sort of square unglazed ceramic tiles and two ceramic dish/bowls are in the kit.Β  There is a separate platform for the ceramic pieces to spin on, one more sturdy than the fan type for the paper. Β  There are two protective covers that mount over the spinning mechanism but the ones included in my box were so misshapen they are an utter joke.Β  NOT included in the kit is a “D” size battery to power the unit.Β  There also are pieces of a glossy type of heavy cardstock in sizes of 4-1/4 x 4-1/4 and 3-1/4 x 3-1/4 included in the kit.

I purchased this unit at Hobby Lobby in the children’s section of the store where all the Crayola brand creativity machines are stocked.Β  The cost of the Spin & Splash was $16.99 USD.Β  You may want to check your local toy store or online if there is not a Hobby Lobby nearΒ  you.

Quite a number of years ago I had seen a product similar to this used with alcohol inks only on glossy paper.Β  A much older version of this toy that the person had “borrowed” from her children was used and the name of the toy was not specified.

Cardstock, photo paper, alcohol ink paper

Cardstock, photo paper, alcohol ink paper

I’ve successfully used this with Stampin’ Up!’s Whisper White cardstock, some Club Scrap textured cardstock, Adirondack’s Alcohol Ink paper, and even Kodak photo paper used in your printer.Β  The inks I used were Stampin’ Up!’s ink refills, Ranger Industries alcohol inks, and Ranger Industries distress inks.

Stampin' Up! ink refills

Stampin' Up! ink refills

 

Ranger Industries alcohol ink

Ranger Industries alcohol ink

 

Ranger Industries distress inks

Ranger Industries distress inks

Here is a video I made using the Spin & Splash.

Using Nestability dies I’ve cut and embossed flowers and a dragonfly from the creative mess that ensued using this toy.Β  I even tried this toy with paper flowers attached to the spinner base using a pop dot to hold the flower in place.

For the next several months, while I am out with my “Day Job”, I will pop in here to show or tell you about things I’m creating while at home for a brief period of time.Β  You can keep up with all of my other “Foolishness and Mayhem” to see what I do that keeps me from being creative and crafty πŸ™‚

Have fun this summer.Β  Don’t get in a tug of war with your children over this toy but do get sneaky when commandeering it for your own uses πŸ™‚

Leslie

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 16:40:10

    I first saw this ‘toy’ being used by the lady from Club Scrap and she, like you, made some fantastic pieces of art with it! I must see if something similar is available here.
    It is great to see your crafts and hear your voice again Leslie. Look forward to seeing more when you have time to pop home and play:)

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 07, 2011 @ 06:34:31

      Thank you Lynn πŸ™‚

      Yes, like you I saw that on Club Scrap in about 2006. The idea has percolated long enough πŸ™‚

      I appreciate your sweet words of encouragement πŸ™‚
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 16:57:39

    Oh I just loved the video πŸ™‚ Seeing the splashes everywhere made me laugh as I very successfully splashed everything in sight when spraying some kitchen towel – my laptop, work surface, light stand, newly painted cupboard doors all were well sprinkled in gold and peacock blue mist sprays πŸ™‚ My hands stayed a lovely greeny – blue for days afterwards and there was no fancy restaurant or opera dates for me!! LOL
    Just loved the effects you achieved though and thought that you could use some standby cardstock to wipe up the splashes on the plastic sheet too so no waste πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the tutorial and the laughs Leslie; also laughed out loud to hear Joe trumpeting in the background as he blew his nose lol

    Love and huge hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 21:20:34

    Too cute! I watched the video today on my IPad while out on the golf course with Kevin while he was playing in a tournament. I need to watch it again, but it looked like you had a lot of fun! I saw a book in the bookstore that made me think of you – it was all about how to turn computer parts into all kinds of things! I remember how cool that lawnmower turned out, and the centipede you made for Hugh! I’m glad you had some time back home to “play” and get revitalized before heading out again!

    Did you have a chance to organize your business papers so you don’t come back to an entire year’s worth of work when you’re back home for good in November? I hope so!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 08, 2011 @ 07:33:51

      How did Kevin do in the tournament? Hope he did well πŸ™‚

      Oooooh you have an iPad? Joe wants one in the worst way but puts off buying one because it doesn’t have ports for the little connectors….what are they called….USB Ports. He’ll probably break down and get one.

      You are such a sweet friend πŸ™‚ thank you for thinking of me.

      Paperwork? I tried to get some of it started while home last week. I gave up on it with most of the time spent running errands and getting a very late birthday present made for my grand daughter.

      Since I won’t be shilling for Stampin’ Up! Any longer then it won’t be quite so bad this winter. I can just concentrate on paperwork and playing.

      Love you Big Sis

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 16:15:50

    iPad? Someone mention an iPad? I want one so badly. I tell you as soon as big money comes into the bank when this house is sold some serious spending is going to be done πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  5. Tracy
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 20:44:03

    I have never played with one of these. They look like fun though
    Lovely card.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

