Sweating The Details

Jann’s wooden frame piece is coming together and I’m making some progress on it.  Here is what I’ve done so far.

If you are just joining in and want to know how I covered the wooden blocks, check out my previous post “The Frame Job” to see a quasi tutorial on what I did with the blocks from wood mounted stamps.

So Jann will know that I truly do know who she is and what her last name is (for more on that bit of confusion see this post) I am going to modify a Spanish stamp from Stampin’ Up!

Gracias wood mounted stamp

Gracias wood mounted stamp

I like the look of the filigreed “G”.

Heat embossing prep

Heat embossing prep

I misplaced my Very Vanilla card stock, not so easy to do in this small room but I did it.  So I’ll be using Whisper White.  I used the Embossing Buddy to rub on an area of the paper before I inked the Gracias stamp with VersaMark.

Black emobssing powder

Black embossing powder

Covered the entire stamped area with black embossing powder, tapped off the excess and heated it up with my heat tool.

Heat embossed image

Heat embossed image

Look how shiny this is, and the raised texture from the heat embossing.  Love it.

Cut the image out

Cut the image out

I, very carefully, cut the image from the paper and found it to be just way too WHITE and looked odd on the block.  Antique Lace Distress Ink from Ranger Industries will take care of that.  At least I hope it will.

Mod Podge to the block

Mod Podge to the block

I’m using Mod Podge to adhere the “G” to one of the smaller blocks.

Mounted to the block

Mounted to the block

If I were a bit more comfortable with fussy cutting I probably would have cut away the rest of the white but since I’m ham fisted I knew I’d just destroy the beautiful image.  I still think it looks quite lovely on the block.  More especially so since the stark white of the paper doesn’t require “shades” to keep from blinding you.

Joe "interruptus"

Joe "interruptus"

Joe was in the middle of some serious thinking and planning.  See the paper pad below the blocks I took into his room.  I thought his brain would appreciate a few minutes to get itself untwisted from the “knotty” mess Joe was putting it in 🙂

That clamp

That clamp

Joe read my post of when he was working on Maureen’s frames.  He did say that I could take his clamp if I wanted it.  He is so generous to me.  But I think it is only because he knows I’ll go and take it anyway if I should decide it would come in handy 🙂

Precision is what counts

Precision is what counts

I love it when he takes pride in his work.  Sometimes makes me (the slap dash and put it together person) kind of crazy when he gets so caught up in the details.  But I do love the way the man works.

Maureen's blocks

Maureen's blocks

A slight change in his appearance has occured.

Jann's blocks

Jann's blocks

He gave me  his sad face and meekly begged for a haircut.

More measuring

More measuring

A bit more measuring and fiddling.

More measuring

More measuring

A bit more measuring…..okay get that hinge put on sometime today will ya’!

A tap with his hammer

A tap with his hammer

After he marked the hinge screw areas he gave them a whack with his cute little gold hammer and a punch.  This is totally exhausting work and he has worked up a powerful sweat.

Torturing Lynn

Torturing Lynn

Lynn expressed an interest in this drill and mighty skinny drill bit.  She said this would be just the right thing for drilling holes in her dominoes.  Doing my part to help others with tools and such. 🙂

A bit of chin action

A bit of chin action

What are you doing?!  I had to ask and he would not answer until he was done.  It was to help steady the drill and keep it lined up with the hole so the drill bit would not go in crooked.

Closer look

Closer look

I thought I’d get a bit “artsy” in my documenting the process and change the angle of the camera of my iPhone.

I wore him out

I wore him out

This process had caused him to break out in beads of sweat.  He’s done and can finally rest from all the rigorous work he had to do 🙂

Joe's part is finished

Joe's part is finished

Joe is finished with his handy work and he did a fantastic job I must admit.  Now he can go take a nap, or get his brain twisted back in knots with that schematic drawing he was doing, or go to his recliner and read, or….whatever.  He’s earned it 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 10:12:58

    I shall be brief:

    This man who you BURNED last week, let you get within ARMS REACH of him with a pair of scissors or clippers?!!

    Has he GONE MAD?!!!!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 25, 2011 @ 11:29:17

      What can I say? Some people just don’t learn. Gluttons for punishment. Maybe have latent masochistic tendencies. I mean, I’m not going to cop to any sadistic tendencies. No siree, not me man, no way Jose.

      Besides, he used the “I’m hurt and can’t raise my arms or I’d do it myself” ploy on me and it worked. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 18:01:35

    From burned to bald in less than a photo frame 🙂 Brilliant, how do you do it????

    Love that flourished ‘G’ just beautiful 🙂
    Ahem! Will you please ask Joe to return my drill now that he has finished with it?
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 25, 2011 @ 20:27:58

      You are hilarious. You had me laughing out loud so hard that Joe had to come find out if I were alright 🙂 Love that “Ask Joe to return my drill now that he has finished with it”. I just roared at that one.

      And I have magic powers to have Joe go from “burned to bald in less than a photo frame”. Alas I want to keep my magic powers to myself 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy
    May 07, 2011 @ 21:04:59

    Awww Joe is a sweetie.
    He is sweating because he knows you want it just right…..or he wants it just right, lol.
    Your project turned out beautifully.

    Thanks so much for the sweet comment on my blog, you put a smile on my face when I read it 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 08, 2011 @ 06:50:40

      Thank you Tracy. We had fun putting that thing together for Curtis. Joe was so nervous that Curtis wouldn’t like it and was floored by his reaction. He still will tell me how surprised he was at Curtis’ excitement. Joe just hasn’t had this side of our fun before 🙂

      Girl, I really love the work you do. You make me happy when I see your work.
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

