I’m A Dolt, I Admit It

Jann, I have finally figured out what your name is.  It has only taken a year, but I did figure it out.

For some reason I thought your married name was Saulsbury and your “professional” name was Gray.  And I literally mean “professional name”.  Our Jann is the star of several infomercials for Provo Craft and she has been on television.  I’m so lucky to have a television star as my friend.  I even got to meet her and hug her last year.  🙂

When Joe and I met you last year I continued under the delusion of Saulsbury as being Royce’s name.  Having been to your Facebook page and trying to keep up with all of your flittering around the countryside, girl you are travelin’ 🙂  I did see the light and now I know you are Jann Gray.  So please forgive me for getting you all mixed up.

Wooden photo frames

Wooden photo frames

This is the beginning stages of Jann’s thank you gift from me.  I’m toying with the idea of getting this mostly finished then sending along a packet of embellishments and stuff to adhere after she has attached photos of her Royce and her Weston.

Now isn’t that the most “friend”ship thing to do.  Here Jann.  Now fix it yourself.

I’m still in the first stages of getting this put together before I hand it off to Joe to put the hinges on for me.  By then I should have a better idea of where I want Jann to dig around for proper photos and have her attach them, and only attach the photos.  Nothing else.  I won’t force her to “fix” this.

Antique White acrylic paint

Antique White acrylic paint

Once again, this bottle of paint is circa 1994 and I don’t know if it is still available.  I’ve put on two coats of the paint, let it dry between coats.  I covered both the front back and sides of the wooden pieces but left the bottom bare.

K&Company paper

K&Company paper

This is from the same pad of paper I used for Maureen.  This paper screamed JANN because she likes to have printed words in her creations.  This paper helped me to be able to fulfill that need of Jann’s, plus it was alright with me since no books were torn and mangled in the making of this item 🙂

K&Company

K&Company

Isn’t this paper just beautiful with the delicate floral pattern and the sort of scroll work?  This paper will be used on the back of Jann’s photo frame thing so she can look at it and enjoy the bits of printed words that peep out.

Back side of the wooden frames

Back side of the wooden frames

Isn’t this lovely?  I really like the small bit of Antique White acrylic paint that peeks around the edges of this paper.  I’ve inked the edges with Chocolate Chip Classic Ink from Stampin’ Up! and I really like the dark edges.

Close up of the printed words

Close up of the printed words

This is so pretty.  I think I may have to make one of these for myself.   Or at least use this paper on something.

Front side of wooden frame

Front side of wooden frame

More of the K&Company paper from the pack.  These little tulips, or whatever they are, in the pattern bring a smile to  my face.  So ordered and in such neat rows.  Makes my heart happy to look at them.

Closeup of the front

Closeup of the front

Lynn, since you are the guru of all flora I’ll let you tell me what this flower is.  I really don’t think it is a tulip but I don’t know what “genus” it could be.  I’m sure that Lynn will be the one to go to for that bit of erudition, now how’s that for a big word 🙂

Okay, I think I’ve left these to dry long enough and can now hand them off to Joe.  I’ve put more of the Grecian Gold Rub & Buff on the sides and top of the wood, as I had done with Maureen’s.  So it is off to my power tool Scrubby to leave his mark on this gift.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 16:47:34

    Looove that paper with the script. I bet when I get to purchase that paper pad it will have retired! Did you mention the name of the pad? My one little brain cell is in meltdown mode 🙂
    I don’t think Jann will think badly of you leaving her to put whatever photos she wants on this frame; it is a brilliant idea. The distressed edges look good against the white paint.
    Those flowers do not belong to any genus found in the real world, they are stylised flowers and purely representational 🙂 In the world of art anything works.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 17:27:12

      It is K&Company “Life’s Journey” 12 x 12 paper pack.

      I knew you were the flora guru 🙂 and would know what was what 😉

      I don’t think Jann would mind adding photos to the frames, I just don’t want her to feel like she has to put it all together. Although she might like to do that and put her own touch on it. I don’t know. I just want everyone to be happy. Sounds crazy now that I read it. Oh well.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

