The Frame Job

Sorry, couldn’t think of a proper title to this post.  Still it fits, sort of.

In an attempt to be a “tutorial” in making something similar to what I’m doing…just in case there is someone who might like to attempt this but doesn’t know what to do….I’m about to bore you with the details.

Mod  Podge.  I really like this stuff and have used so much of it over the past couple of months that I have to make a trip to Michaels or Hobby Lobby to buy more of the stuff.  I wonder if they make this stuff in gallon jugs?

Mod Podge over acrylic paint

Mod Podge over acrylic paint

First, the paper you will use to cover the surface of the wood.  Draw around the block on the paper and then cut it out.  Test fit it, make any snips of excess paper until there are no areas of overhang.  Ink the edges and then get ready to mount the paper.

Apply to both surfaces

Apply to both surfaces

Apply the Mod Podge to both surfaces, the wood and the back of the paper.  This will allow for a “slippery” bit when you are positioning the paper.  This allows you to move the paper around into position without tearing it.  Otherwise, just putting the Mod Podge only to the wood and not the paper (or to the paper and not the wood) is almost instant adhesion which is a bad thing.  No wiggle room.  You get what you get and can’t change it without much damage and a few bad words.  Trust me, I know what I’m speaking of…bad words and all.

Apply pressure

Apply pressure

You have to smooth the paper over the wood first before you apply the use of the brayer.  The paper will tend to move around under the brayer as you apply pressure if you don’t take the first step in applying hand pressure.  Move the brayer all across the surface and make sure to go both diagonal from corner to corner and across from left to right.  Make sure  you get the corners good so they don’t come up later.

Wipe up excess glue

Wipe up excess glue

The glue will squeeze out as you use the brayer.  Just wipe up the excess and continue on with the application of pressure until no more glue oozes out.

Same process to all blocks

Same process to all blocks

Isn’t that “beautimous”?!  I love the look of this paper.  It is gracing the back of the blocks instead of being hidden beneath the delightful photos on the front.  No, it is not embossed and bumpy.  It just looks like that and I love the look of it.

Rub and Buff

Rub and Buff

This is a small tube.  Don’t be fooled by the size because this stuff is like the old Brylcream “A little dab ‘l do ‘ya”.  Oh and it has a fairly strong smell of turpentine or one of those chemicals.  You don’t need to fling open the windows and use this in a well ventilated area.  Only if  you are of the unfortunate few that get slamming bad headaches from noxious smells.

Just a dab

Just a dab

This might even be too much for the small area to cover.  Just remember a small dab will work great.

Ohhhh, shiny gold

Ohhhh, shiny gold

If you want a more pronounced golden shimmer then you can use more.  I just want to have a light touch of it.

Isn't that pretty?

Isn't that pretty?

After this dries it will continue to have this beautiful shiny glow.  Love this stuff and am so glad I learned of this stuff.

Ooops, too much

Ooops, too much

My phone rang and startled me as I was applying a light touch with the Rub and Buff.  This one gets a full schmear instead of a light touch.  If you find that you have this kind of an “accident” use a paper towel to rub, and rub, and rub, and rub (you get what I’m saying) until most of the Rub and Buff is wiped off.  Then apply it again with the light touch.

Okay, my job is over for right now.  It is now time for my Scrubby to take over.  I just love it that he helps me when I ask and drops all that he is doing just be help.  Gotta love that man of mine, and I surely do.

Bear paw in a small package

Bear paw in a small package

I had to laugh a little watching him struggle with the small package of hinges and screws.  His big old bear paws fumbling around in the little space with the tiny sized pieces.  “Oh, shut up” is what I earned from my laughter 🙂

Do the job right the first time

Do the job right the first time

I knew I had the right person on this task.  He’s getting the pieces just right before he puts them in the clamp to hold them in place.

Clamped and ready

Clamped and ready

My Scrubby has lots of toys at his disposal.  This clamp has a swivel head so he can get the clamped object in the right spot to work on.

Marking the spot

Marking the spot

He has both hands free to hold the hinge in place and mark the holes.  That clamp thing is quite handy.  Hmmmm, wonder how I can appropriate it and take it to my room?  After all…”What’s mine is mine and what’s his is mine”.  Right?

Ooops.  Electric eraser time

Oooops. Electric eraser time

He has an electric eraser.  Can you believe it?!  Well it sure works after he slipped the hinge just a smidge and had to remark the area.

Drilling pilot holes

Drilling pilot holes

This wood is hard, really hard.  Scrubby was afraid he’d split the wood if he just tried to “Power” through with the screws.  Something I would have attempted to do had it been up to me.  So glad I have him to rely on with this many talents.

Attaching the screws

Attaching the screws

Another electric tool.  He’s got a few of them and they are “Designated” for certain things.  I’ve been warned about his power tools and so I stay away from them.  Well, not really.  I have been known to sneak in when he is hundreds of miles away and can’t do anything about it to use his tools.

Other side

Other side

One side down, now on to the other side.  He makes this look so easy.

Head shot

Head shot

I couldn’t resist.  It was there, what can I say.

Marking the holes

Marking the holes

He’s taken care to not have the same thing happen as with the other side.  He’s got a better grip on the hinge this time.  No more electric eraser 😦

Pilot holes

Pilot holes

Yes, I know you saw this before but I can’t help myself when my Scrubby has his power tools and is using them.  I just love to watch this man work and you are subjected to what I like.

Hinge installed

Hinge installed

Now aren’t you glad you sat through all of this.  Look at that hinge!  Beautiful isn’t it 🙂  Or not.

Done with the first part

Done with the first part

I love this paper, and it looks so good now that it is hinged.  I think I’ve come unhinged.

One last block

One last block

This is the block that will be at the top.  Held with two L Brackets.

Give it a Whack

Give it a Whack

The wood proved to be a little recalcitrant when he tried to first drill the pilot hole.  His bit would not bite into the wood.  So he had to resort to whacking it with a punch.  Look at the photo.  You can see the arc of his hammer as he hit the punch.  The ghosting of the hammer is way too cool.

Taa Daa

Taa Daa

Maureen had sent me photos of her Christmas gathering with her Mom and children last year.

Charlie's spot

Charlie's spot

Patients just don’t consider a doctor’s family on the holidays and poor Charlie had to miss the festivities.  I did make sure to have a spot for him.  At the head of the family.  I used my ATG gun to adhere the photos to the blocks and you can do the same when you select a photo for your Honey Bunny, Stud Muffin, Sugar Plum, or whatever you call him.

Thank you Maureen for being a customer of mine.  I appreciate you in many, many ways.  Mostly as a good friend and as my Big Sis….even though you are considerably younger than me 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 15:38:28

    Lovely job, a photo frame to give pride of place to. I love that paper too, it has a look of bas relief to it and almost looks as though you could rub some of that gold paste over the whorls but oviously it is an illusion and is flat paper but is very pretty.
    I was given two tubes of two different gold colours of paste that are very similar to your rub n buff; mine is supposed to be used for picture framing but can be used for all types of surfaces and, as you say, a little goes a long way.
    Love those gadgets of Joe’s – now I could get very carried away with a few of those 🙂 Love that dinky little drill of his which would be very useful for drilling holes through dominoes 🙂 Rod has several electric drills and various sizes of bit but none are fine enough for drilling into the top of dominoes!

    Thanks for the tutorial Leslie, this is a lovely, unique thank you present. Have you made a start on Jann’s yet?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 16:42:45

      Thank you Lynn. I know what you mean about that paper. I rubbed it the first time I laid eyes on it and disappointed at the flatness. But I still love the look of it.

      The Rub and Buff I have is also to be used on picture frames but since I don’t mess with picture frames then anything that will stand still long enough gets dabbed with it 🙂

      Joe’s toys. I have purchased a majority of them for him as his Christmas or birthday presents. I love tool shopping almost as much as I love craft shopping. I’m a closet “Tool Belt Diva”. The only problem really is that I’m scared half to death of the power tools, fearing I’ll cut my fingers off or worse.

      I’m trying to figure out what to do for Jann. I don’t have any photos of her family and I’m trying to figure out how I can make the frame so she can add the photos herself. I don’t know what size to make the blocks so I’m kind of stuck. I’ll figure it out once I get my butt in my room and just decide that Jann will have to make the photos fit what I’ve come up with. How’s that for a gift item. Her, the receiver, has to bow to MY constraints. That is what is bunging up the whole works right now.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 09:58:34

    Wow, this is beautiful! And it was so sweet to leave space for Charlie – he really is the best husband and father! I’ll have to start looking for a good picture of the two of us together for the place of honor! This will look beautiful on my desk! You are so sweet to devote so much of your precious time right now creating this!

    I have bought Charlie many tools over the years, and he hasn’t even taken any of them out of the box! He’s just not a tool guy! I guess since he uses so many tools in his work, that one more set of tools would just remind him of work. Mistakes in the tool shop or garage would be much more forgiveable, you can always get a new block of wood; not so much with people!

    Jann would love to pick out her own photos and make the finishing touches using the “kit” you will send her. She’ll enjoy the ease of using pre-selected items that coordinate together to finish off a masterpiece! Hey that gives me an idea – I think I’ll send you small “kits” every once in a while you’re out on the road, so you can jump in your craft room in between loads of laundry when you get a chance to swing by your house and create a quick card. I’ll send one that I’ve done, and send you the precut items to duplicate it, or you can alter it to suit your needs. That way you can play with glue and paper and EVEN GLITTER and get it done in no time at all. You’ll end up with two cards, mine and the one you create! It’ll be “Leslie’s 5 minute card series!” I think Birthday cards are the order of the day; it will help you with all those birthdays in your family that you have such a hard time keeping up with!

    Jann and Lynn, how about joining in on the fun?!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 25, 2011 @ 11:39:24

      Here, here. I fully concur. Wood shop or garage, easier to get another piece of wood or internal working mechanical guts than going to the store for another person.

      Although, sometimes I wonder about that because I do see billboards often as we travel that advertise Adult Stores. I wonder if you could go in one of those and pick the parts you want. You know like shopping for a set of clothes. Mix and match the blouse/shirt with the skirt/trousers, find accessories to match. If the head you choose is too “Mouthy” (like me) can you take it back and exchange it for one less “Mouthy”? Or how about grabby hands. Can you exchange the arms and hands for some less grabby ones? Just wondering.

      Okay, you’ve made my decision about Jann’s frame thing easier. I will gather some bits and bobs together of what I would put on the frames if I had photographs and let her pick and choose what she wants to use. The extra she can stash or give away. I can get these in the mail quicker that way. Talk about a cop out! Oh well, some things just have to be relinquished and I have to relax my “control freak” tendencies on some things.

      I’m going to gather some stuff to send to you, along with the frame so you will have a box of goodies. Sounds like fun to come home to a goody box from time to time.
      Love you Big Sis 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

