An Announcement And A New Project

First the announcement:

As of today, April 22, 2011, I am no longer a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator.  This has been a very hard decision to make and it means I will have to set to work on my website and delete all references to my Stampin’ Up! website.  That is going to be fun.  NOT.

My reasons for this decision are:

  1. I am not able to give my full attention to anyone that needs a good “Demo” that is available 24/7.  More especially so since I will be going back to my truck driving job and be totally out of the loop of everything.
  2. I’m a terrible sales person and have no business being in an area that I flounder in.  I don’t like chasing people down and cramming stuff down their throats just to get them to purchase from my website.
  3. I’m a “Non Conformist” at heart and have been chafing at being pigeon holed into only using Stampin’ Up! products.  If I grouse about the products, even secretly, that does nothing for sales.
  4. This year has been very hard for me to be excited about being creative because of…well see #3 above.
  5. I get totally excited and my creativity kicks in when I enter my local scrapbook store (LSS), Whole Lotta Scrap, and feel like I’ve died and gone to heaven and just want to roll around in all the stuff Leslie has in her store and purchase most of what she has.
  6. The guilt and self loathing I feel from making the purchases only leads to massive purchases from Stampin’ Up! to soothe the feelings of being a traitor.  Then I become rebellious and grumpy.
  7. This downward spiral takes me back to my teen years when I was, literally, forced to attend my foster parents church twice on Sunday, once a month on Monday, and every Wednesday night.  The older parishioners would tell me at every chance they got that I needed to be SAVED OR I WAS GOING TO HELL.  That only served to bring on more rebellion and I stood with my feet planted more firmly in the “Pagan” realm of spirituality.
  8. Being 56 years old, wait let me get a calculator and make sure of that.  Yes 56 is correct.  I still have not grown up yet and still harbor that rebellious teen in my heart.

As far as the people that have purchased from me in the past.  How will they feel about being evicted?  I’m sorry for dumping you and forcing you to look elsewhere for a Stampin’ Up! Demo.  I just can’t be the very best when I’m truly the very worst.

If you are still with me and have not gone off to some other website to get your dose of creativity and upbeat banter, I thank you for hanging in there.  I do have a project that I’m working on that you might find interesting.

BUT FIRST:

My "Crap Room"

My "Crap Room"

What a mess.  I have to clean this up before I can begin a new project.  I think I’m the only person that has the “Gotta have it close because I may need it” itis.

Hotel/Motel room keys

Hotel/Motel room keys

I have a plastic bin chock full of hotel/motel room keys that we keep.  I did say once before, a long time ago, that we stay in hotel rooms every night when we are out on the road.  Just so you can get a proper visual in your head as to the size of this bin, it is a 1-1/2 gallon plastic bucket with lid that can be purchased from Sam’s Club and filled with licorice sticks.  I bought this bin for 50 cents on a trip to Wichita, Kansas a few years ago and it was empty of all licorice sticks.  Bummer 😦

There were hotel keys on my work table hiding beneath all the stuff.  So they needed to be put away since I was in “clean up” mode.

The tiny bits

The tiny bits

Yes, I do use that crazy trash bin I made last month and it has come in quite handy for these small bits and pieces.

The hanging trash bin

The hanging trash bin

See 🙂  I do use it.  It is still hanging there after I used some heavy duty tape on the velcro straps I adhered to the underside of the table.  Works great.

A full deep breath

A full deep breath

Oh I can take a full deep breath now that the table is cleared off and I can actually see the surface.  Wonder of wonder how clearing the clutter brings the birdies out singing and the flowers bloom.  Well, at least I feel better upon seeing the vast expanse of open table.

Vacuum marks

Vacuum marks

I even was finally able to bring the vacauum sweeper in to make the cleaning up official.

Collapsable bin

Collapsable bin

Usually I have all these pads of paper or the plastic protectors filled with paper propped against the wall storage units behind my chair.  I run over them with the wheels of my chair, knock them over when I need to open the cupboard doors, step on them as I walk around in my room.

Now they are contained in a basket, similar to the little baskets in stores when you don’t need a shopping cart.  The only difference with these baskets are the sides fold in and the basket collapses when not in use.  I purchased two of these way back in 2007 at the Container Store in Denver when we went there for Thanksgiving with our kids.

Wooden blocks

Wooden blocks

Remember that massive Stampin’ Up! purchase I made last month?  The wooden blocks from the stamp sets I purchased have been taken from the stamp container and will not be used as they are originally intended for.  Have I said before that I don’t like wooden stamps?

The project

The project

I am making one of these photo frame things for Jann Gray and one for Maureen Mathis because these two wonderful ladies have looked past my rebellious ways and have been the mainstay of my Stampin’ Up! business over the past two, almost three, years.

Hinges and L Brackets

Hinges and L Brackets

My Scrubby will be my Assistant in the creation of these.  He will be attaching the hinges to the two outer “wings” and attaching the L Bracket to secure the top wooden block.  I think My Scrubby is on the mend enough to take this task on.  Besides, he can do this from a seated position and not have to strain his dislocated rib.

K and Company paper

K and Company paper

The first one I’m working on (and I won’t spill the beans much further) is going to be clad in K&Company papers.

The paper choice

The paper choice

These papers to be exact.  I love this piece that looks like an old tin ceiling tile.  Love this one.  And the floral pattern paper I like also.

Dolphin Gray acrylic paint

Dolphin Gray acrylic paint

I don’t know if this color is still available.  This particular bottle of acrylic paint is circa 1994 when I had an obsession with plaster houses and villages.

First coat of paint

First coat of paint

I’ve painted all of the blocks with the Dolphin Gray acrylic paint.  Front, back, and sides.  I have left the bottom free of paint because I will be attaching felt so I will not be the cause of scratching the paint surface of the designated area they choose to display this item.

Kind of defeats the purpose of showing the paper

Kind of defeats the purpose of showing the paper

Distressing the edges of the paper is something I have to work on.  I got a bit carried away with it this time trying that technique of putting the paper on the Teflon mat and working the ink inward.  Oh well.  If it looks really badly I can just cover the entire thing up with embellishments or adhere another piece of paper over the top of it.

Photo corner punch

Photo corner punch

I’m using the Photo Corner Punch from Stampin’ Up! on a scrap piece from DCWV along with the K&Company paper.

Photo corners

Photo corners

I really like these colors together.  I was less heavy handed with the ink edging on these than I was with the base paper.

Okay, now this might just make you toss your cookies and I’m sorry if that does happen.  The rest of the photo frame project will have to wait until I get a bit further on to show you how it is coming together.  I have an update on My Scrubby and it isn’t pretty.

I think I'm killing My Scrubby

I think I'm killing My Scrubby

Those burns he got from the heat wrap episode.  I covered the blisters so he would not be stuck permanently to the recliner as they ooze.  I noticed this morning that the bandages from last night were not looking very promising as far as healing goes.

Okay, things are going to get pretty gross from here on out.  You’ve been warned.

They look worse than ever

They look worse than ever

His blisters looks horrible.  He says they don’t hurt but itch something fierce.  I’d leave them to the open air, were they on my back, but with the meds making him sleepy that is not an option.  So I’ve cleaned these blisters best as I dare to, left them to air out while I drove to the drug store to get more gauze bandages.

I think my poor Scrubby is being tortured by me instead of being nursed 😦

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 16:52:04

    I happened to visit your other blog and noticed you had changed the background so thought something was going on! I understand what you are saying about being rebellious and how by sticking with one company you an get a creativity block. In fact I’m surprised SU hadn’t cautioned you before now:) In the last couple of months several bloggers that I visited have given up their demo status because SU had reprimanded them after a kind blog visitor had reported them – nasty people. So, the bloggers decided they couldn’t stay with SU who were becoming more and more restrictive; the bloggers weren’t using other companies products instead of SU’s but were using products that SU didn’t carry which SU used to say was okay but now it isn’t okay!!!!
    I have to be honest now that you are giving up your demo ship – I do like the look of some SU products but just couldn’t support a company who have business practises like SU has.

    That craft room looks very clean and tidy:) Well done you! I miss not having all my craft stuff around me; I thought the other day I would use some glitter and a few different colours of embossing powder but then remembered most of the glitters and ep is packed away in a box and the thought of rooting around for that box put an end to that spot of creativity 😦
    One day it will all be able to be unpacked.

    When I unmounted all my stamps I never did know what to do with all those blocks although the grandchildren had great fun with them 🙂 I did convert a couple into Tim Holtz type tools by sticking pieces of velcro onto the smaller blocks and attaching pieces of felt to the velcro so I could use alcohol inks. I also keep a couple of blocks to flatten shrink plastic with.
    I’m looking forward to seeing the final frames that you and your assistant come up with 🙂

    I think Joe’s blisters look worse than they actually are, yes they have burst and you are taking care to keep them clean – have you any antiseptic cream? But if they itch that usually means they are healing. Perhaps if Joe could take off his shirt while he is up and about and let the air get to the skin would certainly help the healing process. Would a towel under his back when he is asleep help to wick away the moisture do you think?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 10:17:26

      The saga of Joe’s blisters continues. We have some Johnson & Johnson First Aid Cream that we use on almost everything from scratches to burns. For wounds it is only good to use at the first “home treatment” stuff. After a while I have to quit using it because it does not allow the wound to dry up and heal over correctly. With these blisters, I don’t want the skin to dry too much with the fluid still underneath. That is when the blisters hurt real bad from the shrinking and drying skin holding the fluid within. His blisters look bad but they don’t show signs of infection or pus which I’m taking care to inspect for every chance I get.

      I feel bad for you not being able to craft when inspiration strikes 😦 Have you had much traffic of interested buyers? I don’t remember if I told you or not, I did visit that Historical Railroad site you provided a link for. I check it once in a while to see what events are being held. Another car show or a Murder Mystery trip, or fun new event to promote the railway and raise funds to repair the tracks. Very interesting and fun to catch up on.

      You may have to resort to just showing up at little Kim’s house when inspiration strikes. Hopefully the trip would not be too far causing your inspiration to fizzle and wane by the time you got there. That would be a total bummer 😦 I’d be real cranky in that event. Come to think of it, I’ll be cranky sometimes in my not so distant future out on the highways 🙂

      I do feel better now that I’ve made the decision to split with SU. I don’t have any idea what possessed me in the first place to sign up, but I did and I learned some things along the way so it was not a total loss. Plus I have increased my stash of rubber stamps and maybe one day I’ll not be so skittish of making greeting cards.
      Love to you and Rod – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

