Handing Over The Mini

Before I get to that part….you know how it goes.  Excited to give your creation to the intended person and hope with all your heart that they like what you’ve done.  Sing your praises to the world, excited utterances gush from their mouths.  All the while you are excited about giving your work of “heart” the nagging feelings of ineptitude begin worming their way from the pit of your stomach and gather cloyingly around your heart and lungs constricting your chest.

Wishing for all the world that the gift could have been dropped off at the door step, ring the doorbell, and run like a fool before the door opens.  Only problem with that scenario is Hugh has a dog that resides on his porch.  This dog loves paper items.  This dog delights in sinking its teeth in and shaking the tarnation out of the paper until it succumbs to  the thrashing and  teeth chomping by flinging itself all over the porch in its dismembered attempt at freedom from the teeth.

Tim Holtz spider web stamp

Tim Holts spider web stamp

This page needed a bit of something in the upper right quadrant, how about that word :-).  The “spider” is another one of those “chips” I wrenched from the computer  and left its “legs” firmly attached to the circuit board.

Another butterfly

Another butterfly

I had one remaining butterfly die cut and several of the diodes left.  This poor unsuspecting butterfly is headed right into a trap.

Approaching menace

Approaching menace

That nasty centipede and the spider are both looking hungrily at the butterfly.  Okay, I’ve got carried away with myself.  Don’t let my ramblings distract you from the fact that I put a SCREW and a WASHER in the hole of the tag 🙂  Have to  keep the “manly” part going in all this.

Upsy Daisy stamp set by Stampin' Up!

Upsy Daisy stamp set by Stampin' Up!

In desperation I thought I’d use the Upsy Daisy stamp on a tag I purchased from Michaels.  The Crushed Velvet Flock from Hobby Lobby is being used on the daisies.

Flocked and fuzzy

Flocked and fuzzy

I liked the way this Upsy Daisy thing turned out.  The flocking stuff adds color and texture to the image.  I did find one teensy tiny butterfly hiding on the top of my table from the Beautiful Wings Embosslit and had to put it on the tag, along with a sentiment from a Thanksgiving stamp set from Stampin’ Up!

I’ve added a flower that has been glittered and has a huge metal brad in the center, and of course I had to add one of the charms I’ve made.  Attached the charm to the ribbon on the tag.

Last page of the mini

Last page of the mini

A file folder I’ve cut from a piece of manila file folder, black grosgrain ribbon from Stampin’ Up!, Notes and Details stamp set from Stampin’ Up!, and a “Blessings” thing from Club Scrap, along with a photo corner holder thing to keep the folder closed…also from Club Scrap.

A Gratitude List

A Gratitude List

Using one of the old time cards I purchased at Office Depot has been used as the “Gratitude Journal” that is placed within the file folder.

Talk about Dimension

Talk about Dimension

This mini is just chock full of dimensional items, although most of them are from the guts of a computer along with some floral bits and what not.  Thankfully I had the foresight to make it out of chipboard or the whole thing would come crashing down from all the weight.

Back of the mini

Back of the mini

The back of the mini is covered with a piece of scrap paper I had left over from Curtis’ birthday gift I made last month.

Forcing Joe to add his bit of thanks

Forcing Joe to add his bit of thanks

A bit of arm twisting –  not really – but a fair amount of whining on my part and Joe wrote a few words of thanks to Hugh.  Now this mini is officially from the both of us 🙂

Hugh, the recipient

Hugh, the recipient

Joe called Hugh this morning, totally excited about handing this over, and invited him for coffee and a bit of conversation.  Hugh, appropriately oohed and aaahed over the master work.  He stated that “This will go in a special box I have that will go with me in the event of having to flee from my home with my treasured possessions”.  Okay, that made me smile.  He appreciates it and that is all I care about.

Okay, now you might want to stop reading at this point.  If  you go any further the whining could cause your ears to bleed, spots form before your eyes, have a strong desire to show up on my doorstep and whack me up side the head.

My Day Job is encroaching on my life

My Day Job is encroaching on my life

I have the application for Triple G Driveway on my desk.  At least five times a day the following conversation goes on in my house.

JOE:  “Have you filled it out yet?”

ME:  “No, not yet.”

JOE:  “When are you going to do it?”

ME:  “I don’t know.  Later today.”

JOE:  “That has to be filled out before we leave.”

ME:  “Yes, I know.”

JOE:  “I really need you to fill that out and do it today.  Would you please do it today?”

ME:  “Do I really have to do it today?  I’ve got a ton of things to do before I have to leave.”

JOE:  “You get it done now and it will be done with.”

ME:  “Go away.  I’ll fill it out and get it sent off.”

Well, as you can see, it is still not filled out.  I really don’t want to do it because that REALLY means that the time to go back to my Day Job is actually going to happen again.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 14:11:33

    Think of it this way: If it really WERE a day job, you’d have to do it EVERY DAY, or at least 5 times EVERY WEEK! At least you don’t have to do that!

    Also remember that your “adventures between jobs” and sometimes during the job provide lots of entertainment for many others. It’s kind of like being a movie producer, bringing entertainment to others who need it, but without all the ditzy cheesy blondes. But then, Joe might LIKE that!

    Can you imagine how boring life would be WITHOUT all those great (and sometimes horrible) adventures. So bland, so mundane…..

    It opens your eyes to the world’s beauty, which you missed out on for many, many years. And you have a lot of making up to do. I still remember your great post about the faces on the barns. I have not looked at a barn the same way since.

    Personally, I can’t wait to hear all the new stories!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 10:28:30

      Thank you Maureen. I’ve been blubbering for the past 20 minutes because of your posted comment. Get the sand bags put up around your house so you don’t get flooded out 😉

      Seriously though, after 10 years of driving semi trucks across the same highways I tend to forget that not everyone travels very far from their home base. Maybe I can take advantage of Joe’s “weakened state” and I can do at least one post showing the whole process of what we do. Then again maybe not because once he gets into “WORK mode” there is no slowing down.

      Thank you, once again, for putting a fire under my seat to get moving on with my life and not just sit here and whine about it 🙂
      Love you Big Sis

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:04:19

    C’mon girl get the damn form filled out and it will stop Joe nagging at you and you can get ‘the tons of other things’ done afterwards. Just remind yourself how much crafty stash you can buy after you’ve done your day job!
    Can we put in requests please? More bridges, more barn faces, more mountains and more sky photos please 🙂 Now that isn’t too much to ask for is it?
    You also must organise the truck companies to ensure you have plenty of opportunity to visit Maureen and Jann again – oh visits to Maureen and all those home baked cookies 🙂

    I bet Hugh was secretly chuffed to bits over his especial album – if it was given to me I would be stopping people in the street to show them the beautiful item a dear friend had made especially for me. I take my tote out with me everywhere and tell anyone who will listen how I have a very kind, generous and loving friend in America who that tote just for me 🙂 I have been asked several times where I bought it from! No you can’t buy that sort of gift any where.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 10:50:09

      Thank you Lynn. Now you will need to put up sand bags around your home to stem the flooding from my blubbering. You and Maureen have touched my heart and started the water works.

      Yes, a deep breath, I can go on to the next phase of my life with less trepidation and a song in my heart :o) The camera will come along for photos of skies, bridges, mountains, people, and anything else I deem worthy to bore you all to sleep :o)

      I’m ever so fortunate to have the pair of you as my dear friends. Okay, get the sand bags and hustle it up, the water works have started again.
      Love you my dear friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

