My Scrubby

Or “What I’ve Been Up To The Past Week”.

Week before last, Joe was at our dining room table with his laptop surfing the internet in search of circuit boards, diodes, and other computer innards to create a gizzy that will make an old time flash bulb flash and melt by the push of a button.

During his search he came across a video of some guy making a light flashing doo bitty thing that pulses and gives an LED light show to music.  Watching the video…I’ll have to have Joe find it once again so I can post a link to it…..got me to thinking about using the parts of a dead computer circuit board to make a stacked collage.  That should be really simple….or NOT.

Mother Board

Mother Board

Joe asked our neighbor, Hugh, if he had any dead parts lying around his house.  Hugh repairs computers for his friends and family.  He hits yard sales on Fridays and Saturdays looking for the deals to be had on tables, lying in grass, lumped in boxes, and all the other hiding places people put the pieces of their lives on display for a mere pittance.   Hugh has also gone over Joe’s Windows computers and gave them a tune up and overhaul with his yard sale bounty.

Audio and Video boards

Audio and Video boards

After looking at these boards with all the stuff sticking up from them my mind was whirling with ideas.  That is until Hugh told me to get these items OFF the circuit boards I’d have to bake them in my oven at 400 degrees to melt the solder.  In the process the boards would be damaged.

Undaunted by the challenge, still having other ideas winging around in the empty space between my ears I told Hugh I’d keep the boards and see what I could come up with.  Joe, my ever delightful “Scrubby” had offered to help me as much as he could.

Desecration of the circuit board

Desecration of the circuit board

Joe brought out his heavy duty electric soldering gun and went to heating up the solder points on the back of the board while I got a good hold on the bits that stick out on this side.  As the solder melted, I tugged, the thing came loose and away from the board.  In so doing, I’ve given Joe a couple of burns from my over zealous tugging on the “thing” and when it came loose the only place for the molten hot tip of the soldering iron was to his exposed fingers.  Yowy Zowy!!

The "Thingys"

The "Thingys"

After about half an hour, a powerful stink raised in our house from the molten lead, not to mention the aroma of burning flesh, I finally got the hang of only holding on tightly to the “Thingys” and waiting for the solder to fully melt.  Joe’s fingers were no longer getting burned and scarred.

Joe in his "Kingdom"

Joe in his "Kingdom"

With an assortment of clamps, magnifying gizmos, better tools, and no more fears of me attempting to burn his fingers off….Joe retreated to his “room” to work on the big Mother Board to get stuff off.  This is no easy task since those buggers were put on to stay into the 10th millennium.

Taking the pieces he was able to remove I went to my room and began to create.  The house had a lingering smell of burned sulfur and lead for several hours, even with the windows open.  An acrid smell that permeated everywhere and left a really bad taste in my mouth that I would NOT recommend you guys do this.

My original idea was to take these components, stack them in a visually pleasing way on a 4″ x 4″ piece of chipboard and make an “art piece” out of the whole mess for Hugh as a “Thank You” to him for all the things he does for us throughout the year.  You should have seen his face when I said that.  The look was one of those that speak volumes.  “You’ve gotta be kidding!”, “You’re gonna do what?!”,  “I think I’ll not answer the door when she comes around the next time”, “This can’t be good!”

If you get the hair brained idea to do such a thing, check out your local Radio Shack or any online shops that sell circuit boards, diodes, and other components.  The circuit boards at our Radio Shack sell for a dollar on up to about five dollars depending on the size of board and the diodes come in packs of hundreds for under ten dollars.

I’m having to resort to making a “Thank You” Mini Album that has been a real trial because I’m trying to make it “MASCULINE” with very little success.

Joe in my "Crap" room

Joe in my "Crap" room

While I’m in the throes of creativity my work surface is all but obliterated with all manner of stuff that I drag out to work with and don’t put stuff back because I just might need it again.

I hit a snag with a stamp that required a spinner hand.  I had to have Joe’s help in getting the thing figured out.  Yes, the spinner thing threw me for a loop and I made the hole way too big and as usual, my “Scrubby” came to my rescue.

The last couple days, as I’ve been in my room creating and making an awful mess of it, Joe has been outside working on our business trailer and figuring out how to make a work table for outside when he needs to use the power saw or some other “Man Tool”.  He’s hurt himself in the process.  Twisted himself once again and displaced that rib he had problems with a couple months ago.

He had a really bad night last night and got very little sleep from the pain he was having.  He walks around and groans, grunts, and occasionally  yowls in pain.  I got him to the doctor’s office this morning just after it opened.

I get "Stink Eye"

I get "Stink Eye"

My poor Joe, he’s in the “Torture Room” once again and the look on  his face is a combination of pain and exasperation with me.  Once again I have the camera out and he’s getting about fed up with it.

Tethered

Tethered

Joe is hooked up to some kind of a machine that is supposed to send electrical pulses into the muscles and force them to loosen their grip on his rib cage.  Joe is having lots of trouble breathing once again, and he hurts so bad.  About 15 minutes of these pulsing, prickly sensation little things and this part of the treatment will be over.

A Bear Hug

A Bear Hug

Personally, I think Joe just wanted some “One on One” time with our doctor and get a big old hug from him.  Joe will tell you that it’s “Treatment” and our doctor will tell you that it is one heck of a trial doing this treatment with Joe’s massive chest to twist around.

So, a bit of grunting and moaning on both of their parts, a bit of yelping out of Joe with no satisfying pops this time from his ribs or back.  Our doctor decided that Joe’s muscles were balled up too tight and he will need to have a prescription for some pain meds and some muscle relaxants.

My poor Joe, he can’t find a place to sit or lie back that doesn’t hurt and the pain meds are not working just yet.  Maybe by the second dose later tonight he’ll begin to feel the relaxing effects.

I had to laugh so hard I nearly peed myself when the doctor told Joe that he thinks “Joe’s allergic to work”.  If Joe wasn’t hurting so bad he’d have joined in on the laughter.  As it was he did a bit of laughing and then told us both to stop because it made him hurt worse.

Tomorrow, I’ll show you what I’m doing with the computer innards and give you an update on my “Scrubby”.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 17:37:31

    Oh poor Joe. Hope those pain killers work real soon and the muscle relaxants do what they are supposed to do and the doc can sort out the problem again. Joe is going to have to favour that rib for a while.

    Working with those circuit boards sounds very intriguing and can’t wait to see what you come up with 🙂 Hope Joe’s fingers are okay now 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 09:14:24

      Thank you Lynn for your concern over Joe. He had a really rough day yesterday and it plum wore him out from the muscle spasms he endured. Poor guy 😦 Yes, his fingers are good. No blisters from being burned with the soldering iron. The spots were tender for a day or two but he’s better now.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 20:59:45

    Awwww poor Joe. He is such a sweetie.
    But sorry Joe, I love those pictures of you in the doctor’s office, especially the last one 😉

    Looking forward to seeing what you do with those inards 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 09:16:22

      Thank you Tracy for your sweet words of concern for my Joe 🙂 I had to laugh out loud at your comment on the “Bear Hug” photo. Joe doesn’t think it is so funny but I sure do :o) Poor Joe…..guess that’s what happens when he married a blabber mouth 🙂
      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 22:46:31

    Poor Joe, he sounds so miserable! And not sleeping is NOT helping, I’m sure. What a tough week, and this was supposed a GOOD one without any stomach illness. As you were leaving the chiropractor’s office, I thought I hear him say that Joe needs two months off to recover. That’s what YOU heard, too, wasn’t it? Surely it wasn’t just me?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 09:36:14

      Thank you Maureen for your sweet words of concern for my Joe 🙂 Our doctor, Lord bless the man, is one of those “old time” doctors of Family Medicine. One of those dying breed of not specializing in any one thing but knows almost everything. He’s a cross between crotchety “Becker” and “Marcus Welby, MD”.

      And yes, I did hear our Doctor say to take two months off :o) Joe seems to have been in a pain addled stupor and didn’t hear it 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 22:47:48

    I’m pretty sure Lynn and Tracy, heard it too, right girls?

    Reply

    • Lynn Claridge
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 15:44:52

      I most definitely heard the doctor say that Joe needed two months at home being nursed by Leslie to fully recover and everyone knows that you should do what the doctor says 🙂 He obviously said it loud enough because I heard it clear across the pond!

      Love and hugs
      Lynn xx

      Reply

      • Message In A Fold
        Apr 20, 2011 @ 07:43:24

        Poor Joe. I laughed so hard and loud at your comment that I woke him out of his drug induced sleep. He wanted to know what was so funny. After I read your comment to him all he managed to say was “Nope, ain’t gonna happen” and I had another loud and hearty laugh.
        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

