Thank You Maureen

Before Maureen's suggestions

Before Maureen's suggestions

After Maureen's suggestion

After Maureen's suggestion

Thank you Maureen for your helpful advice.

That purple flower was really bothering me and I could not figure out what it was.

Having had already glued the stuff on before (in the smaller photo) I was a little afraid of damaging by pulling stuff up.  Most of the things came right up, but the tags are really secured with the glue so they will have to remain where they are.  I was able to get that purple flower out and replace it with more of the blue flowers.

As Maureen had suggested, I move the yellow flower up to take the place of the purple one and filled in the spots with more of the blue flowers.  That left a big hole to the right so I put in one of those glittered chip board flourish things.  I have them in both silver and this darker color.  The silver didn’t go very well and really looked out of place.  The darker one looks much better.

I did tear the paper a bit where the yellow flower used to be, but I’ve covered that with a small grouping of white flowers and one small blue one.

I took the thing off the upper right tag and changed the ribbon on the lower left tag to match and added another charm  I had made.

I do like this much better, even though my botch paint job shows more than I would have liked but this does look so much better.

Thank you Maureen for your advice.  I may  have to send you text photos the next time I tackle flowers again.  “This one……or this one?” 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 16:35:58

    Love the alterations Leslie, it looks much more cohesive now and don’t worry about the white paint showing – that is a deliberate bit of distressing 🙂
    It’s amazing what a difference changing things about can make. I don’t glue anything down untl I’ve finished placng embellishments and then I go away and come back a little while later to see if I’m still happy with it but we can all be clever with hindsight 🙂
    My challenge is ribbon – I love the different colours and textures of ribbons and have yards and yards of the stuff but just can’t make it look good on a card or project. I love seeing what some people can do with ribbon but mine just looks blah!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 15, 2011 @ 08:15:43

      I don’t think I was clear in my post during the week that I fiddled with it, moving things here and there, watching YouTube videos and all, the acrylic paint was the only thing I had put down that was permanent at first. So when I thought I had it, but knew something was wrong it was already glued down. I can’t rightly say how many times I cleared the box lid off and started to put it back in my cabinet to try something different. Now I’m glad I stuck with it and asked for some guidance.

      Isn’t it amazing the things that get the better of us? Me flowers and you ribbon :o) Sure do wish I had more time to be at home, or knew about your predicament earlier. Maybe come this winter….after you have settled in your new home 🙂 and can have your crafty stuff back out all the time….we can have a challenge to make things using ribbon for you and flowers for me :o) That would be fun….or not 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • Lynn Claridge
        Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:52:07

        That challenge sounds a brilliant idea Leslie. I need a challenge to get my one brain cell working again:)

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Apr 16, 2011 @ 07:41:00

        You are just too funny…..your “one brain cell”. I laugh each time I read that. Yes, you and I will most definitely have to work out some kind of a challenge together. That would be total fun…even though I’m sure to be jealous of your results :o)
        Love you – Leslie

  2. Tracy
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 00:52:59

    Your cigar box is beautiful.
    I really do like the changes that you made. Sometimes its just a little change and it can really make the project stunning.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 16, 2011 @ 07:34:22

      Thank you Tracy. I appreciate your lovely comment 🙂 I am so thankful for friends that come to my aid 🙂 when I’m floundering. I, also, am thankful for my friends that let me know I’m on the right track instead of off in the weeds :o) as you have done.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

