Flower Phobia

I’m working on it, and my “Glitter Phobia” also.  I need some guidance from you guys that don’t have a problem with flowers or glitter.

Joe gave me several of his cigar boxes last year.  I’m using them now to alter and give as gifts to my family members.  Shhhhh, don’t let them know that they get all my practice stuff.  I try to do the best that I can when I make these things but it is after I’ve finished that I find I could have done things a bit easier or better.  So my family members are my “learning curve” 🙂

Word Play #120651

Word Play #120651

This box is being made for my Daughter-In-Law, Brenda.  She purchases greeting cards and hides them in a drawer of her bed side night stand.  The inside of this cigar box measures 8″ wide and 7″ tall so just about any size card would fit in the box and be hidden from view by someone ramming around in her drawer.  The box depth is about 1-1/4″.

The inner lid I’ve used some paper from K&Company – Life’s Journey 12 x 12 pad.  I’ve misted it with my “brews” and then stamped all over with the Stampin’ Up! Word Play stamp set.

Diligently I inked all the edges of the papers before I glued them in the lid of the box, however, I forgot to ink the edges of the papers that I glued in the inner bottom of the box 😦  I had to do that as an afterthought and I guess it looks okay.  The paper is from the same pad of K&Company – Life’s Journey which I’ve sprayed with my brews and tried to ink the edges after they were glued in.  Looks a bit of a fright but maybe Brenda will never know 🙂

The cigar box lid

The cigar box lid

This is the lid of the cigar box.  It has taken me about eight days to get up the nerve to pile flowers on and add glitter to them.

The paper is from Die Cuts With a View (DCWV) – Family Connections pack.

I love the glittery flourishes that are on the paper, but it is only in the right hand side.  I tried to make some artistic ….something….with Antique White acrylic paint and all I managed to do was make a big mess of it all so it needed to be hidden from view.

I stamped an image from Notably Ornate (Stampin’ Up!) on a piece from the K&Company’s – Life’s Journey paper and placed it over the acrylic paint botched up mess.  It did cover a good share of the mess but not all of it so I’ve had to hide it mostly.

The flowers are from Michaels and Hobby Lobby and are from their silk floral centers.  I’ve added buttons from my stash in the centers of the larger flowers.  The flowers have been glittered up with several types of Glitter Glue and I think one purple color of Stickles.

The clear beads are from a spool I bought last year and have not been able to figure out what to do with the stuff.  It is poking out at the top around the purple flower.  I’ve put a couple feathers beneath the purple flower, and dotted in some areas with some very small white flowers.

The two tags are from my experimenting with those little Merchandise Tags from the office supply store and I’ve cut out small tags that came in the pad of paper from K&Company – Life’s Journey.  The bottom left tag holds a photo tag that is in the K&Company pad, I’ve put Glossy Accents over the photo to make it look like it is behind glass and I’ve used some Grecian Gold Rub and Buff stuff on it.  The top right tag is another experiment that I’ve sort of hidden with another tag thing from K&Company and I’ve attached one of my hand made charms to a piece of Pumpkin Pie 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon.

Honestly.  I need your opinions on this.  Are the flowers too big?  Bunched up in an unappealing manner?

It looks good at one glance but lingering it seems to be missing something, or it just needs to be reworked.  I’ve spent at least six of the past eight days hunting through YouTube videos of mini albums to see what things other people have done with floral groupings so I could emulated them.

Joe, now feeling better after a very nasty bout with food poisoning he got on the road and suffered through it for over a week while crossing the country.  That is until I took his butt to the doctor.  He’s been sick most of the week and is now getting back to his normal self, Thank God for that.

Anyway, Joe seems to think this looks really good.  Maybe I’m just too overly critical of my work.  I do know that I’m totally intimidated by flowers and so want to get over this crisis – crazy as it sounds…

If I don’t get this figured out and comfortable with it poor Brenda will not get her really late birthday present 😦 I would have posted this on my other blog…but that one goes directly to Facebook and she will see this.  Can’t have it all spoiled by  doing that.

I thank you for any advice you have to offer.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 18:01:54

    The purple flower seems to be from a different color palette from the rest of the project. How about replacing it with the two flowers below it, kind of putting one over the petals of the one underneath, to layer it. Then move your tag into the position of the 2 flowers. How about replacing the purple ribbon on the left tag to the same stuff you used for the tag on the right? And the K&Co tag over your tag on the right is hiding some really pretty work you did to it. Save that K&Co tag for another project!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 11:48:20

      Thank you Maureen for your advice. I did go and make the changes you had suggested. Some of them I left where they are since I had gone and glued everything down without fully thinking this through. The changes look so much better and I so appreciate your good eye 🙂
      Love you 🙂

      Reply

  2. Shelly
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 21:12:07

    Wish I could assist you Leslie but alas I am flower challanged too. Nice to hear that Joe is feeling better. Thought I’f pop in to say HI .
    Talk to you later
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 11:49:57

      Thanks for offering to help Shelly 🙂 I sure do hope things are settling down in your home and you are finding more than just a second or two of peace. How is you Mom doing – and Brian with his throat issues?
      Love you

      Reply

  3. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 16:28:08

    Yep agree with Maureen regarding the placement of the flowers. I think I would have torn some script paper and inked the edges to cover the white paint first then added the flowers – made many mistakes like this myself and have paper stamped with various script or text background ready for doing quick cover ups 🙂
    You are too critical of those tags you made too and I agree (again) with Maureen that they are too nice to be covered up 🙂

    Poor Joe that must have been a serious case of food poisoning to have lasted so long – what caused it? The only time I ever had food poisoning was after eating fish many years ago and it put me right off fish. So glad to hear he is now on the mend.
    Wish I knew someone with those cigar boxes, they must be great to alter 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 15, 2011 @ 07:52:36

      Thank you Lynn. I did say that flowers intimidate me, and they just make my brain go “Out to lunch”. You know, like worrying over a small detail while leaving the big detail neglected? I do appreciate you two and your opinions and guidance.

      As to Joe, he has no idea what he had eaten to get so sick. He’s much better now and is back to his old self :o) I am happy to report. Oh man, fish would be a really bad thing to get sick from 😦 Yuck. I’d swear off fish also, if I liked it to begin with.

      My crazy Joe *shaking my head* he’ll eat anything at all. Even if it tastes real bad. If it is on his plate he thinks he has to eat it. It has taken me years to get him to the point of pushing the bad stuff off onto a separate plate and leaving it alone. With him being out on the road by himself and doing his “Road Warrior” stuff to hurry up and get back home – as he puts it – he is unsupervised :o) A couple more weeks and that will end, I’ll be with him once again to nag and bully him 😉

      Do you have cigar shops near you? We have them here, as the boxes empty they are put in a bin for sale. Joe buys his cigars from outlets in North Carolina as we travel through. The cigars he likes are held in wooden boxes, some he has purchased have come in a wooden box covered entirely in the brand’s paper. The hinge piece on these boxes is paper also and a small nail is the lid closure. I think I may have to try to tear the paper off one of those boxes and get it bare. That will be a project for this coming winter since my time is short now.

      I hope you and your family are all well, finally over the ill effects of the flu. What’s going on in your garden now that Spring is finally getting a foot hold? Must be lovely to the sight and nose 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Tracy
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 01:02:11

    I see you have already posted the new top of your cigar box, so no advice from me 😉
    I love the idea of storing cards in here.
    I often wonder where everyone is getting there cigar boxes from?
    We do have a local supplier of cigars in town, I may give them a call tomorrow 🙂 Wish me luch 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 16, 2011 @ 08:37:07

      The all wood cigar boxes have a very strong smell. I’m not sure if it is from the cedar they are made with or if it is a combination of the cedar and the tobacco. The smell does go away after you cover it in paper and add the – just as strong smelling – Mod Podge to adhere the paper. Once the glue dries the strong smells do disappear. Good luck on your hunt for cigar boxes 🙂
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

