Flocking

Doodlebug Crafts - Crushed Velvet Flocking

Doodlebug Crafts - Crushed Velvet Flocking

Flocked image

Flocked image

A trip to my local craft store for some sponge applicators to go on my Tim Holtz wooden thing.  Didn’t find any of the applicators but I did find this set of Crushed Velvet Flocking stuff.

I’ve not seen it used on any of the YouTube videos lately.  This stuff reminded me of my trip last year to Spartanburg, South Carolina and my interview at Scrapbook Creations.  They  had a product, can’t remember the name of it, that is applied to flowers in an image and it raises up high above the paper surface and really adds texture and visual impact to the project.

I thought I’d give it a try.  I know it is not the same product, but I wanted to play around with it any way.

Flocking applied over colored markers

Flocking applied over colored markers

While at the craft store I purchased this book filled with either sketch paper or watercolor paper, don’t know which.  The intent is to have a place to experiment, write notes, and be able to find it once again later.

This is another of those images from Elements of Style stamp set.  I’ve used VersaMark and black embossing powder to set the image to the paper, heated it to emboss it then colored it in with Stampin’ Write Markers.  This time I wrote down each of the colors and products used in this experiment at the bottom of the page.

Using 2-Way Glue Pen on the image, after it was colored, I sprinkled the flocking over the glued area then tapped off the excess.  The result is the flocking mutes the color and gives a slightly raised surface.  When I brushed my fingers over the flocking it was almost like feeling the nap on velvet as you brush back and forth.

Flocking on the image

Flocking on the image

On another page I used VersaMark and black embossing powder, once again, to apply the image to a new page.

This time I colored the image using only the Flocking product with the 2-Way Glue Pen.

This stuff is pretty easy to use.  There is a product recommended by the manufacturer, which I did not purchase.  The instructions accompanying the set indicate using a glue pen would create the same results.

I wonder what this stuff would be like using Glossy Accents on some paper flowers?  Hmmm, seems like another experiment is needed.

Today is our daughter, Tiffany’s, birthday.  If you remember…she is our Funeral Director and an accomplished embalmer.  She’s also having a tattoo sleeve done on her right arm.  No recent additions have been done to her arm of late.

Our Tiffany is not a “Girly Girl”.  She is a No Nonsense type of person that is very comfortable in jeans and t-shirts.  Flowers and frills are not her thing.  She is a huge fan of Halloween, and of course, all things funeral.  She has a wooden casket in her home, stored away, and used at Halloween time.  She’s had that thing for several years.

Tiffany's wooden box

Tiffany's wooden box

The jewels as “nails” is the only “Girly Girl” thing I added to her box.

The black spider webbed paper I picked up from Whole Lotta Scrap near my home.  The images are from a Tim Holtz set of rubber stamps.  I’ve embossed them using Whisper White Craft Ink and White embossing powder, then cut the images out with a craft knife.

I’ve tried to incorporate as much of Tiffany’s personality into this wooden box as I could with available paper.  The box was in a clearance bin at Michaels.  A left over from last Halloween which I snatched up just for Tiffany.

Back of box

Back of box

Top of box

Top of box

Front of box

Front of box

Bottom of box

Bottom of box

From Whole Lotta Scrap I picked up some Graphic 45 Halloween In Wonderland paper also.  I used some of this paper on Reilee’s box also.

This was the only “Halloween” type paper that didn’t look childish and has a spooky overtone, something I’m sure Tiffany will like.  Especially all the bright graphics.

Inside the box

Inside the box

For Tiffany’s love of sci-fi and fantasy I chose this piece from the Graphic 45 Steampunk Debutante to be the inside of the box, also from Whole Lotta Scrap.  I originally  had some other papers inside (still there underneath this paper) and I just did not like the way it looked.  This worked out so much better.

Tiffany and Reilee’s boxes will be mailed out by Thursday of this week.  After all the glue has had a good drying period.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 16:41:35

    What a great idea to have a book dedicated to experiments and ideas where you can also note what products you used.
    Love your flocked flowers, I love the texture of flocking. Ive seen it used on a teddy bear stamp with great effect.

    Oooh a really spooky box 🙂 I bet Tiffany will adore that.
    Are you catching up on your birthday gifts now?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 07, 2011 @ 08:03:23

      Yes, I’m taking a good whack at the birthday presents. I don’t know how many I’m going to get finished before it is time to leave….and that is looming large.

      I can imagine flocking on a bear image would be awesome to see and feel. I’m going to be playing around with it on some paper flowers for a cigar box I’m altering for my Daughter-In-Law, Brenda.

      I don’t know why I haven’t thought of the book sooner. I suppose you are the same….have an idea and begin working it out only to find at the end that it won’t work for what you had planned but would be something you could do later on. When later on comes I can’t find the piece I did before nor do I remember what I did so that is lost forever in a part of my brain. Oh well.

      So…what are you crafting for your Daughter’s wedding? Can you give me a hint? 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 17:30:04

    I thought of making a photo album for our daughter’s wedding present although I have an idea that I will actually make the album and decorate the pages but let them add what photos they would like. I saw something I would like to try in Craft Stamper magazine – have you ever bought this magazine? I believe it is available in the US. Some delightful projects.
    As to the card for the wedding well I am in a quandary there as there are several ideas floating around in my brain but can’t pin anything down yet. I am trying to make up a batch of simple cards so that we can send a card frequently to Keri, Rod’s daughter, who is battling colon cancer and has just started her treatment.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 08, 2011 @ 08:33:00

      A photo album sounds like an awesome idea. Carissa got one for her wedding, covered in white satin with sprigs of pearly strands sticking up from a cluster of white silk roses. It is one of those with the plastic sleeves for photos and she loves it. It is jam packed with her wedding photos. I made her a huge 12×12 one with tons of techniques in them. That was at the time when I was just beginning to get the hang of scrapbooks. Any new thing I learned was featured in the album. It turned out to be gigantic. Your daughter will be so happy to have that kind of a gift from you, I mean one like you mentioned….just tuck in photos that will be surrounded by her Mum’s beautiful art work 🙂

      Poor Keri. I bet she is miserable. Keep me informed on her progress. Is she in hospital quite a distance from you and Rod? I hope all this misery she will be going through will do what it is intended and she lives many long and happy years.

      I’m sure you will hit on a card idea for your daughter’s wedding that will be just the thing. I’m looking forward to seeing your creations, which will be amazing as usual 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 22:57:55

    I love your idea on a book dedicated to experamenting with products and techniques.
    I haven’t tried flocking, and never thought I would. But I have a stamp that would look pretty with some. Thanks for showing me how easy it is to use.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 13, 2011 @ 13:38:02

      I just learned from a friend that Stampin’ Up! used to sell flocking years ago but no longer carry it. This is the first time I’ve even heard of the stuff, let alone play with it. It is easy, and I think it would make a large intricate stamp look good. If you have the Heat and Stick Powder from Stampin’ Up!, you could ink your stamp with VersaMark, apply the Heat and Stick Powder, heat it, then put the flock over the sticky from the Heat & Stick.

      Hmmmm, seems that I will not have to do a bit more experimenting. Thank you Tracy 🙂
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

