Reilee’s Box

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to put this over  here in my SU blog.  If I put it over in the “Foolishness & Mayhem” blog (changed the name) it will go directly to Facebook and my granddaughter will see this.

The papers used on this box are Graphic 45’s Halloween theme of Alice In Wonderland.  My granddaughter is going to be 10 or 11 this year (bad grandma).  She is no longer a little girl and not quite a woman, so this box is made with one foot still in childhood with the Alice In Wonderland papers, and the other foot in grown up with the flower, feather, and beaded pin I made.  The inside of the box is Stampin’ Up’s Newsprint papers and some of that metal tape.  I think she will like this to hold her treasures.  I’m sure she will get the “message” also on the front of the box.  After such a long time that her special day has come and gone her gift will finally “Arrive” 🙂

I’ve got to clean up the black acrylic paint off the hinges and sign it on the bottom then it will be ready to go in the mail to her.  FINALLY.

Reilee's original box

Reilee's original box

This was the original box I made for Reilee.  The paper is DCWV Street Lace, a glittered flourish, Prima flower, a SU rhinestone brad, Dazzling Diamonds glitter on the flower, a couple feathers, and a button.

I really liked the way this box was coming together.  Since Reilee’s favorite color is black it was not too hard to put this together.

I used some Triple Thick gel coating to cover and protect the box.  However, I applied it with a sponge brush and it globbed on in places and took forever to dry.

Once it dried, however, I found there were places (especially) on the back that the gel coating pulled away from the lid and rolled itself up. Peeling the acrylic paint and exposing the wood beneath.  That was not good.

Front of box

Front of box

I was working on this box while I was doing my bookkeeping for our business.  Can you tell my  heart was just not fully in this and my brain was not very engaged?

I thought the box needed something “Extra”.  So I wrapped some eyelash fiber around the base, glued it on with Glossy Accents and found that it looked awful after it dried fully.

So then I go in my button stash and willy nilly attach buttons with E6000.  Some of the buttons still have their shanks on in places and a few of them have turned to the side.

Atrocious and unsightly.  I could not, in all good conscience, send this mess to my granddaughter.  I think I’ll keep it and pour the drawer of buttons I have in this box.

Orange and Turquoise stuff

Orange and Turquoise stuff

Maureen, you had indicated you would like to have these.  There are three sets of these stickers.  Borders, journal spots, flowers, and tags.  I don’t know that I will really ever use them.

If you do want them I will send them to you.  Since you still have children at home, and you have some things you do for your church, these stickers will probably be used in things you create more readily than they will here in my home.  Just say the word and they will be in the mail to you.

Lynn, I haven’t forgot about the stamp set I promised to give away at the first of this year.  I’m late, as usual, but I have not forgotten.

Elements of Style stamp set #120045

Elements of Style stamp set #120045

I purchased this stamp set (Elements of Style) just to have one to practice coloring.

I’ve used Stampin’ Write Markers in the various shades of purple, pink, and a couple greens.

This is done with the straight markers.  Outlining the images, shading in the darker areas with the deeper colors, then working outward with the lighter colors.

When I was finished I found that I did not really like the depth of the colors and had to use the white gel pen in places to tone down the darkness of the colors.

This image was stamped on Whisper White using StazOn ink.

Elements of Style stamp set and Blender Pen

Elements of Style stamp set and Blender Pen

I found that using the Blender Pen along with the Stampin’ Up! Markers the coloring went faster and seemed easier to do.  Use the marker in the shaded areas of the image and blend outward toward the open areas of the image created its own shading and coloring with very little effort.

The colors are more muted, the paper does pill up using the Blender Pen and it is coarse to the touch after the image is fully covered.  This image is stamped on Whisper White and with StazOn ink also.

Well, that was my day yesterday.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 16:18:30

    Reilee’s box is scrumptious, what a grand job you have made of it. I bet she will be delighted with her present from grandma; a perfect decorated box to keep her treasures in.

    Love that stamp Leslie and love the colouring you have done with it. I must get a blender pen to go with my marker pens, they are so useful. I have a pen that I thought was a blender pen but it isn’t, it is an eraser pen so instead of pulling in the colour as I expected it is supposed to remove colour and it doesn’t do that either 😦
    Next time you in an order for Stampin Up Leslie will you order me one of these to try out please?
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 02, 2011 @ 06:27:21

      Thank you Lynn. I’m just glad it is done, next is to get it mailed 🙂

      I’ve never heard of an “eraser pen” before. The Blender Pens come in a set of three. If you don’t mind…I’ll send you one of the set that I already have so you can try it out. I’ll send it along with that stamp set I had promised to give away to anyone that came up with a slogan for 2011 and you were the only one that commented on that particular one.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 14:08:57

    Oh thanks Leslie, that is kind of you. I certainly don’t mind having one of the three so long as you don’t mind giving one of your blender pens away. I will gladly pay for it. I’d completely forgotten about your slogan giveaway, I remember commenting – you are too honest 🙂
    Promarkers and Copics have pens called blender pens but they don’t blend but are supposed to remove (erase) some of the colour but that doesn’t work either. I want a blender pen to work with my Marvy Le Plume pens and think the pen you are using would do the trick.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

