Stuck In “Tag Land”

 

 

Newsprint #117166

Newsprint #117166

Yesterday was going to be a day of getting a few cards started and working on the mini album I keep alluding to.

 

I’ve used the Newsprint paper over the scrap pieces of file folders from the Greeting Card Holder I made.  Since it is such a dark combination of papers I’ve added bits of Tempting Turquoise in places to liven it up a bit.

In the process of adding the tags and embellishments I’ve made is a trial in and of itself.  Choosing which item to put where.  These pages are not very big and I am having to curb my tendency of  over doing it with the embellishments.

 

What a MESS!

What a MESS!

 

I’ve kind of boxed myself into a small area to work because of all the stuff I have out.

I think I know know why Tracy has that beautiful brown fabric in her crafting area.  To cover up the evidence 🙂

While I’m in the creative spirit, putting things away after I’ve used them is not one of my virtues.  I may  need that item(s) in just the next few minutes.

The orange and turquoise stuff to the right in the photo are sticker and border  pieces from a long discontinued Simply Scrappin’ set from a couple years ago and I hate throwing stuff out just because it is no longer available.  I keep telling myself I can make them work but just haven’t found the right application just yet.  Keep dreaming girl….

 

Artistic Etchings #120573 and Trinket Keys #121892

Artistic Etchings #120573 and Trinket Keys #121892

 

Someday, I’m going to get the Tim Holtz tag thing figured out.  Why I have such a block on this I don’t know, but I’ll keep trying.

This time I stamped the images from Artistic Etchings with VersaMark and then used my stash of Perfect Pearls to color the images.  I tried to make the colors darker at the bottom of the Eiffel tower and lighter at the top with the copper, bronze, and pearl powders.  It sort of worked…at least until I added the key and the crown images and colored them with the Perfect Pearls which got mixed up with the previous applications on the tower.

Oh well, I’ll keep trying.

The key is small and fits well on this smaller sized tag.  I like that it is by itself on the ribbon and has a reference to it in the stamped image.  What I’ll do with it next I don’t know but maybe it will find its way on something.

I had lofty ambitions of making a whole lot of tags and sending them out to my friends.  This should be really easy, I told myself….well it is a bit harder than I had anticipated.  Being over critical of my own work and holding it up to a standard (with practice) I want to reach some day.  I’m getting there though and still plan on sending out a batch of tags to my friends before I have to go back to work 😦

 

Eat Chocolate #122006

Eat Chocolate #122006

 

Casting my thought to cards while the creative spirit is working, I took a whack at the Eat Chocolate stamp set using the die cuts and tags.

A little more thought and practice stamping and these items would be good for maybe a 3″ x 3″ note card or something.

After working on Reilee’s box for a couple hours yesterday then setting it aside to dry I wanted to see how other stamps could be used on these tags, thus the chocolate set.

Speaking of chocolate…I received a package from my daughter in Arizona.  The Easter Bunny arrived early at our house with Joe’s and my most favorite candies….Queen Anne Chocolate Covered Cherries.   Complete with Easter Grass 🙂

I had to call and thank her for her thoughtfulness.  That call lasted for nearly two hours.  AT&T Wireless has some problems but I love FREE and since my daughter is with AT&T also then we talk for a long time and I just love it.

 

With All My Heart #118623

With All My Heart #118623

 

After having played with the Window Sheets day before yesterday and having good results with it I had to try something else.

The Window Sheets cut very well with the dies.  I cut a piece from the sheet large enough to cover the die and ran it through my Big Shot.  Cuts wonderfully well.

With two of the same die cut I poked out the center of the “red” one and attached it with my ATG adhesive behind the “frame” to the window sheet die cut.  The red paper is on the outside with the acetate behind it.  Then I used VersaMark and black embossing powder (my stash) on the Thank You sentiment.  Then I layered the “frame” and acetate over the full die cut beneath.  Looks like I’m going to have to make a card now.

So off to work on Reilee’s box and then work at getting stuff used on my table so I can get it cleared off for the next round of projects 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 11:05:11

    I have an idea! Send me that orange and turquoise stuff and I’ll make something from it, and post a video and blog entry about it. And I’ll send you something that totally fails to UNinspire me, and see what YOU can do with it! Another man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

    If you don’t want to add another project to your To Do list with your departure on the horizon, perhaps someone else who reads the comment might be interested in an “Uninspired Swap” with me!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 06:18:56

      That sounds like a great idea. I’ll have a photo of the “orange and turquoise stuff” and you can decide if you still want them or not. There are quite a few sheets of this stuff and you can take your pick….all or some. I’d be up for a Challenge 🙂

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 16:26:11

    Wow what a good idea Maureen! I would be totally uninspired by turquoise and orange so admire those who can use these colours. I rarely use coloured cardstock now except at Christmas so tend to use mainly white cardstock and then use inks to colour it.
    I love your tags Leslie and can’t understand why you put yourself down. I find it very difficult to copy any one else’s techniques but take bits from it and create my own. Nothing I copy turns out the same as that I’ve copied from:) Does that make sense?
    The Paris tag is beautiful!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 06:22:02

      Yes, you make total sense. Thank you for your comment on the tags. I have come to the conclusion that the reason I don’t like the tags is that they are “messy” and I have a hard time with “messy”. No order or linear stuff, just messy. Thanks for the “kick in the pants” 🙂

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 16:29:55

    Just a further thought on Maureen’s idea; I was reading somewhere on the internet that a lady and her friend came up with a challenge of their own – every month or so one of them sends to the other an item or two and using that item(s) the receiver makes an ATC or Fat Page (4 x 4 decorated chipboard tile). I thought it was a brilliant idea, what do you all think?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 06:23:53

      We’ll have to put our heads together and do something like that. As long as we are all on the same page with it I can go for that. I think it would be fun.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

