Attempting To Color

 

Window Sheets #114323

Window Sheets #114323

I haven’t colored in such a long time so those skills are really rusty.

After watching videos of so many others coloring I thought I’d give it a try on a small scale.  Tracy, of TracysTreasures, has been showing her skill and has enticed me to give it a try.

I stamped the All A Flutter (discontinued) stamp with Staz On to the Window Sheet three times.  The first time I twisted the stamp and smeared the image.  The second time was a bit better and the third was just right.  I was going for a “stained glass” effect by coloring with Stampin’ Write Markers on the back side of the window sheet.

This worked fairly well, although I don’t remember seeing a butterfly in these colors before 🙂  TIP:  Allow the markers to fully dry before turning the Window Sheet over.  Contact with the paper below, once turned over, allowed the wet marker to wick into the paper.  The bright colors became muted then later faded almost totally away.

Butterfly Tag

Butterfly Tag

I stamped the butterfly image with Basic Black ink on a piece of Whisper White card stock, allowed for quite a long drying time, then colored the image with Stampin’ Write Markers.

I cut the image out with the Wide Oval punch and then used the punch on the stamped image on the Window Sheet – the “Good Stamped” image.  I placed the punched Window Sheet piece over the card stock.

Using some special adhesive, meant only for translucent papers like Vellum, I attached the acetate to the card stock.  Then I mounted both pieces to one of the die cuts done day before yesterday.  A dot of gold gel ink (my stash) at the edges softened the starkness of the deep brown of the Chocolate Chip Textured card stock.

Fun and Fast Notes #113500

Fun and Fast Notes #113500

Thought I’d try my hand at coloring once again.  Light source shading is a bit tricky for me since I don’t know what I’m doing here.

The Fun and Fast Notes is a wood mount set I’ve had since I joined SU a few years ago.  The sentiment is pretty close to the bottom of the image.  I’ve taken the stamp off the block, I think I’ll cut the sentiment off and have it as a separate image so I don’t get the wonky bit using the Word Window Punch.

Maybe I’ll have to try the “masking technique” next time for the sentiment before I do totally whack it off the stamp.

Once again, I used the merchandise tag from the office supply store for the main image then mounted the sentiment to one of the die cut tags.

Joe has come to the “Bockenstette Hotel” for the night.  He arrived at about 2:30 yesterday afternoon so I spent the remainder of the day with him.  He’ll be leaving in a couple hours to make his delivery by Friday to Greensboro, North Carolina.

After he has gone I’m going to work on Reilee’s wooden box.  While the glue is drying I’ll play some more with the tags and flower die cuts.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 09:21:00

    I like your solution of backing the clear window sheet with the colored whisper white cardstock. That way, the colors come out vibrant like you want them to be! Now you have so many embellishments, you need to use them on some projects! No rest for the weary – just think soon you’ll be road weary! 😦

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 31, 2011 @ 06:03:15

      Thank you Maureen. I know what you mean about now having quite a lot of embellishments. Hmmmm, maybe I ought to get cracking on some cards to stick in my Greeting Card Holder :o) As for the road…..Joe is really making noises about it. Daily I hear “I can’t wait until you are back out with me” and all I do is groan 😦 Oh well, I gotta pay for my addiction one way or another I guess.

      I haven’t been on Facebook for so long. How was your time at the concert? Did you have just as much fun in the nose bleed seats as you have before?
      Love you Big Sis

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 16:16:50

    Love your colouring techniques, beautiful work Leslie. Your idea with the acetate over the cardstock is a great solution, I love this effect.
    Looking forward to seeing what you do with the box for your grand-daughter.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 31, 2011 @ 06:25:06

      Thank you Lynn. I have to laugh at myself because of all the things I’ve done over the past couple years…..the coloring of the butterflies and the vase of flowers was the hardest thing I’ve done. Really, it was stressful. Now isn’t that a riot? I guess I need to go back in there and take another whack at it.

      Now, if I can keep my “if one is good then five is better” way of thinking chained up I will have Reilee’s box done. When I do finish it you will see what I mean.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. tracy
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 22:07:18

    So glad I inspired you to get out your markers 🙂
    I am having so much fun with colouring images.
    Your butterfly turned out beautifully, looks like a monarch butterfly to me.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 31, 2011 @ 06:29:37

      Thank you Tracy 🙂 Yes, indeed, the inspiration lies at your doorstep :o) I have no idea why it was you that inspired me since I’ve watched several videos on coloring but I seem to have more of an affinity with you than the others. I guess maybe it was your self deprecating humor and honesty about the trials you had that spurred me on 🙂 So I thank you once again for that.
      Leslie

      Reply

  4. pea
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 01:00:43

    Tracy is getting everyone into coloring huh? Yours turned out wonderful and I especially love the butterfly. masking can be tricky but so worth the effort.
    Good luck and look forward to seeing what you do next.
    Pea

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 31, 2011 @ 06:33:10

      Thank you, very much for your comment. I do appreciate it.

      Yes, Tracy is an instigator :o) She is good at what she does and has a way of drawing me into her crafting world and wanting to try other things.

      I’m going to take a look at your blog and see who else I can plagiarize :o)
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

