Hanging Trash Receptacle

Hanging trash receptacle

Hanging trash receptacle

It is still there, hanging on.  When I checked it this morning I was pleasantly surprised to see it still there and not having dropped to the floor.

The wonders of Velcro and their super adhesive 🙂

I have a brown paper grocery bag with handles that I use for the trash in my room.  Boy I make a lot of trash.  Guess you could say that “I’m just a trashy person” 🙂

I think I may  have to become quite a lot more diligent in my habits than I have been.  I already have several boxes chock full of the cardboard packaging from glue bottles, small tools, and other things.  When I get a new item that has the cardboard backer I just chuck it in the trash now.

Tracy of “TracysTreasures24” on YouTube has a video that she shows stamping on a piece of the clear plastic packaging as an acetate like embellishment.  So, when I remember (I’m getting addled), I take the packaging out of the trash.

My biggest pet peeve is having tiny bits of paper scraps, scooping them off my work surface and trying to get to the trash bag before I lose them on the floor.  After a day or two of crafting I have a confetti strewn carpet.  Now why, I wonder, do the majority of those tiny bits get under my table so far that I have to get on my hands and knees and crawl UNDER the table to get them?  I can get down there and pick those small pieces up…..the hard part is getting myself hauled back upright.  One hand on the table top for leverage, the other hand balled into a fist to keep the bits from escaping and using the chair to hoist myself up.  Sometimes I miss the chair and the confetti flies all over the place.

Under table top receptacle

Under table top receptacle

My laziness, and lack of desire to get down on my hands and knees, has spurred the idea for a closer trash bin.  Of all the stuff I have in my room, surely, there has to be something I can use.

Maureen left a comment with her ideas.  “And that bag idea sounds good. Is there any way you could find a lightweight cardboard box that you could decorate and velcro to the side of your desk. That way, the paper bag could be the liner.

Casting ideas around in my brain, getting closer to the solution with Maureen’s suggestions, the next hurdle was how to build the box.  AHA!!  I remembered watching Tracy make a video of using some metal tape, found at home improvement centers, to make a tag.  That stuff should work good.  It is, after all, used to seal the piping of duct work in homes to keep the hot or cold air in the tubing to travel where it is supposed to go.  If that tape can withstand the hot air all winter long and the cold air in the summer then it should be ideal in holding cardboard together.

I totally forgot about the foam core board I have had for quite a long time until I drug it out for Katie’s project.  That would work excellent!

I don’t do a “practice run” when I’m going to share my ideas.  I video the whole creative journey.  If it turns out good the first time then excellent.  If it fails then I’ve learned where things need to be changed and why.

My way of learning something is to actually see it in progress, not just be shown the finished product and then told how to go about making it.  I love YouTube because of this.

Here’s my video of the PROTOTYPE and the problems I ran into because of my not fully formed idea.  The changes I made are explained at the end.

Now my next challenge….REMEMBER that I have made the trash receptacle and use it 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 18:14:04

    Love that trash receptacle, much nicer looking than my carrier bag hanging from the a cupboard handle next to my work desk 🙂
    That metal tape is what I used to on my ‘frames’. I adhered strips of it to copy paper and then cut it down to size and then put the pieces in an embossing folder and through the BigShot. It makes great coverings for a chipboard frame and looks like a shop bought frame. I used alcohol inks to take the shininess off the aluminium. It is great stuff for all sorts of craft things – I can imagine using it for covering corners on a mini album 🙂

    Enjoyed the video as usual.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2011 @ 06:45:31

      Thank you Lynn 🙂

      I’m going to be exploring more of the wonders of that metal tape. So…when do we get to see photos of your chipboard frames covered with the embossed metal? Huh? :o)
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. tracy
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 23:07:03

    This is such a good idea. I love the second one you did so pretty.

    Thanks for the shout out 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2011 @ 06:47:59

      Thank you Tracy. I like the second one also. I made it to the PROPER dimensions and didn’t just slap paper on it like I did the first one.

      You are welcome for the “shout out”. Truly, had it not been for me seeing your video on the “Tin Tags” I’d have never thought of using that tape. So credit given where credit is due 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

