A Top Secret Project In The Works

My neighbor’s nine year old daughter came to my door yesterday morning and asked if I had an hour or two for her.  She has purchased some foam frames from the Dollar Store when her Mom took them a couple days ago.  The frames will hold pictures of her older brother and sister, plus she and her younger sister.  This is to be a Mother’s Day present and there is no where in her home she can freely create without a ton of questions or have the secret outed.

Poor Katie was going to have to resort to going to the play ground to have privacy 😦  All of her crafting supplies were sitting on their back porch in hopes of finding a place to make her gift.  “Get your stuff and come on in” was what I told her.

The first 15 to 20 minutes were spent in digging out what her idea was and how she wanted the frames done.  Originally it was to have four separate frames.  I have some foam core that has been stashed away in my room for a year or two.  This would be an excellent stiff backer board for her frames.  I cut out four 5″ x 5″ squares for her.  She fiddled with the placement foam hearts on the foam core for a bit and she decided she wanted them two and two so I cut more foam core for her.  Heck, I do the same thing with paper…change my mind frequently.

Katie

Katie

Hugh, if you are reading this….this is TOP SECRET 🙂

Miss Katie is fearless in her crafting skills.  I gave her a craft knife and showed her how to cut the foam core.

Poor Sweetie had the blade facing upward and I had to stop her and have her turn it right way around.  Then she went after the foam core and before I could stop her she had zipped right down the ruler.  Wonky cut but nothing that couldn’t be fixed.  I had to caution her about going a little slower the next time.  Which she did.

The time spent with Katie took me back to the days when our children were little like her and I had them gathered around the table creating gingerbread houses, coloring Easter eggs, and all manner of other crafty things.  Listening to her as she spoke of her design ideas and thinking about how best I could help her was so refreshing to me.

Glitter glue and flowers

Glitter glue and flowers

I think I need to take a lesson from Katie and her pure joy in glitter glue and flowers.  Just get after it and have fun 🙂

She brought over a couple stencils to add her own embellishment style to the project.  It was a bit of a challenge to get her to wait until today and let the glue dry before she tried to tackle any more stencil and glitter embellishing.  Especially with the zest she displays in squeezing the tube for maximum glitter.

It was so much fun for me to listen to her chatter as she created her works of art from her sweet heart.  I was let in on some other items she had purchased for her Mom at the Dollar store for 25 cents.  She followed me to  my craft room and exclaimed over my paper stash.  At one point in her creating she popped up with “I bet you’ve spent $1,000 at Michaels for all that paper”.  And I thought my secret was safe.

Once in a while Katie and her sister will be over here with me when their Mom needs a spur of the moment babysitter for a couple hours.  Her younger sister pops in from time to time and runs over to my cuckoo clock and stands there, head cocked back waiting for the little bird to come out and bob up and down as it cuckoos.  Elora, Katie’s little sister, knows that I have chocolate candies here for my little business card pass out items.

To be trusted enough by a wee one to breeze in and blow back out from time to time, ever hopeful that this will be the time of the cuckoo calls, gladdens my  heart.  To be given the honor of opening my door to creativity and a safe place for secret gift making….well there is no higher honor in my book.

I can see my table top

I can see my table top

My table is just about cleared off.  Enough that I can at least see the majority of it.

In the orange rectangle, on the photo at left, I have most of the new stamps ready.  They were left to let the 2-Way glue dry on them and should be done by now.

The small orange oval to the bottom left…that is a pile of wooden blocks I’ve set aside (didn’t mount the new stamps to them).  I have a project in mind but will take Joe’s considerable wood working skills to bring my idea to a reality 🙂  He’ll be back home Monday night from his travels and is thinking about taking Tuesday off.  If he does stay home on Tuesday…well I’ll put him to work 🙂

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tracy
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 10:49:25

    She sounds like a real sweet heart.
    So nice of you to help her out.
    I remember creating with my girls, and yes we can all learn a lesson from them. We are all into the perfect layout. They just let their creativity flow.

    I love when the little ones drop by and want to create with me. But now they are all older….I miss those days.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 27, 2011 @ 07:34:57

      Katie is just the cutest. It has been such a long time since I’ve had young children around me and their energy is more than I can keep up with sometimes. As we, Katie and I, got to talking about her ideas she flitted from one idea to the next. There were a few times that I was left way behind in her thought process and had to have her come back and catch me up 🙂 Much the same as when I’ve gone walking to the playground with Katie and her sister when I’ve watched them for their Mom :o)

      Yes, like you, I miss the days of having our children gathered around the dining room table with busy hands, creative freedom, and loud boisterous laughter. I have had our granddaughters around their dining room table being creative and laughing. So, thankfully, I still get to have fun now and again with young children. Blessed 🙂

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 17:40:34

    It’s a wonderful feeling isn’t it Leslie? I am very lucky in having Kim and now Liam spending crafty time here regularly. Loved working with the kiddies at school in Ruth’s craft club too. They just adore glue and glitter and use it far too freely – thinking the more they use the better job it will do – and then not having the patience to let it dry 🙂 Bless them. In the main they are very quick at picking up hints and tips although it doesn’t always stay put in their brains 🙂
    Those little girls are so lucky to have a creative genius living right next door to them. Long may it last.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2011 @ 06:42:13

      You are so right. It is a great feeling to have a child’s mind to watch create itself.

      Man, I can so relate to the glitter and glue. Katie has no fear when it comes to glitter glue tubes. Why make a little dot of glitter glue when you have the whole tube to enjoy? She was so funny. For this old woman, not having a plan of action in mind (Katie that is), just about sent me over the edge into “the kingdom of Control Freak”. I had to restrain myself from doing her project myself 😦 I’ve got photos of the finished project and I’m “PLANNING” on going to Wal-Mart to have all the photos I’ve taken printed then create a mini album for Katie’s Mom.

      It was good for me to have her here. I got to practice “patience” and “restraint” 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

