Greeting Card Holder

Greeting card holder

Greeting card holder

I spent the weekend in my craft room.   Lots of wonderful paper and goodies had recently arrived and I was getting really excited about making something once again.

This organizer has 6″ x 9″ envelopes attached inside, 12 of them to be exact, with a calendar month on each one.

This thing was a doozey to put together.  The instructions were in one of the books I featured in  my previous post.  The pictures were really illustrations and not actual photos of what was going on.  By the time I had this completed I found all the areas where mistakes can be easily made, of which several I did make and had to repair.

This project, I would say, is not totally for a beginner to do.  Please, do give it a try if you are a beginner.  I have created an instruction MANUAL with photographs and take you step by step through the process.  All except for adhering the design paper to the fronts and back covers.  The inner workings are what really gave me fits so I concentrated on that part of it.  The covers are tracing the shape, cutting the traced marks out and then attaching the papers to the covers.  That is the easiest part of this whole thing.

If you do make it through, and get this project completed you deserve an “Atta-boy” or an “Atta-girl”, which ever works.  I do have a video of the completed organizer along with a list of items you will need on hand to create his Greeting Card Holder.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 13:51:06

    What a great idea! Can I have the pattern? I can’t wait to make one!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 15, 2011 @ 18:31:38

      I’ve sent the pattern on to you. This has been amazing! The response to the Greeting Card Holder I mean. Now what am I going to do next!! Pressure, pressure 😦 Oh well, it will just make me work harder on my paperwork so I can spend lots of time in my room 🙂

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 22:25:58

    Girlfriend, ADD YOUR STAMPIN’ UP CONTACT INFO, SU BLOG ADDRESS, SU YOUTUBE NAME AND WEBSITE ADDRESS FOR ORDERS to that pdf file!!!! We need to direct more bidness to yo’ SU bidness and GET YOU OFF THE ROAD!!!

    Signed,
    Your Marketing Director

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 04:59:46

      Good grief!! I didn’t think of that 😦 Thank you for the head slap. I’ll add that to the thing right this very minute.

      I’ve got to get the March Newsletter done so I’ll make those changes first. Oh I so LOVE my Marketing Director 🙂

      Reply

  3. Lynn Claridge
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 17:20:06

    Would love the pattern too Leslie. I may to have alter sizes a little as I don’t think UK envelope szes match US ones but that should be easy enough!
    So glad you had a great deal of response to this creation.
    You have a very good Marketing Director there 🙂
    Just love that paper on the cover, is it from the Botanicals series?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 22:44:02

      Yes, and Yes.

      Yes, I have a great Marketing Director, and
      Yes, the book is made from the Botanical Gazette papers.

      I’m sending you the instructions in a “zipped file”. I hope you can find envelopes that are similar in size to our 6″ x 9″. I’d have to have my very own “Math Whiz” Joe to figure out the dimensions properly for me if I had to use a different size envelope – larger or smaller 😦 That is a sad tale to tell. I’m sure you will manage to create something divine, I’ve got faith in you.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 17:57:56

    Oh I’m no math whiz Leslie and because of that it takes me a while to figure things out but I get there eventually. Rod says I am persistent others say I’m stubborn, obstinate and tenacious so take your choice 🙂
    Thanks so much for sending the instructions.
    So pleased someone has faith in me 🙂 Thank you friend.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 17, 2011 @ 22:51:19

      This crazy added blog I have. The new comments don’t come up as new. They get buried in with the old ones and I have to hunt around for messages that don’t have a notation “In reply to…” on them.

      That greeting card holder is kind of a beast to get figured out. This new thing I’m working on from the left over file folder pieces…..this thing is really testing my brain power. I’m getting there though. So I know you will get the other figured out. Tenacity!! That is a great word. I do believe you have “Tenacity”…especially when it comes to battling your thorny bramble patches in your garden. Yep – tenacity 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  5. Dianne Gill
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 22:13:29

    I just saw the video on utube. Great!! Please send me the instructions. Thanks.
    Dianne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

