Painting With Perfect Pearls

Birthday Bakery Hostess Stamp Set

Birthday Bakery Hostess Stamp Set

This is another “Cheap Tricks” segment.

This cute little stamp set is a Hostess Gift only and has just begged to be treated with pizazz.

Okay, okay so it has just quietly sat on my table all the while I worked on other things.

Jann at WhatYouMakeIt got my wheels spinning a bit.  I’ve been thinking about ways to use the Perfect Pearls and have been at a total loss.  I have some really excellent embossing folders from Stampin’ Up! and Jann’s enthusiasm and imagination were hard to ignore.

I don’t have any crayons but I do have tea lights that I could use.  I have the Lots of Love Letter Press Plate and have been thinking about using that.  More especially so since Valentine’s Day is coming very quickly.   Working through the items she used in her video (you can see it from her blog post of Wax Resist) I found I did not have any of those items.

Still wanting to do something with shine and shimmer I picked up the stamp set and tried to figure out a way to use things that, not only do I have in my craft room, you have in yours.

Color the cakes.

Color the cakes.

I have Stampin’ Write Markers that I can use on the cakes.  So I got the markers out and began playing with them.  The cake stands needed to sparkle but I didn’t have anything that would do the trick, except for the Perfect Pearls.

Discarding the option of trying to stamp over the image already on the paper with VersaMark because I’m not that great at stamping just yet.  Trying to use that small ink pad that comes with Perfect Pearls was going to be a major problem all by itself.

Hairspray and Perfect Pearls

Hairspray and Perfect Pearls

Casting around in my brain for something that I have here at home that has a “fixative agent” in it lead me to hairspray.  There is a lacquer in all hairsprays.  Once the alcohol evaporates out of the solution the lacquer is what holds our hair in place.

So I sprayed some over an image from Vintage Vogue that I had stamped with Garden Green Classic Ink.  I thought I had allowed enough time to pass for the hairspray to dry, but I had not waited long enough.  Oooops, what a mess.  The hairspray also caused the markers to bleed in an unsightly manner and smear those darling cakes.

You can watch this video to see how I got the results from the first image in this post to happen.

Remember Sale-A-Bration is in full swing.  This stamp set – Birthday Bakery – is available to anyone that places a $150 order at my Stampin’ Up! website.   You will not only get this cutest of stamp sets you will also get THREE (3) other stamp sets absolutely FREE and $15 from Stampin’ Up! to shop from any catalog you want.  After your order has been placed and I’ve been notified you will also get $15 of APPRECIATION POINTS toward more free stuff from Stampin’ Up! as my personal Thank You to you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 17:51:53

    Love watching your experiments Leslie, your brain must work overtime with all the thoughts you have tumbling around in there 🙂
    I have a Versamark double ended pen that I use with my mica powders but I also mix them with a drop a water and use them like paint. Just another couple of thoughts for you 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2011 @ 21:42:39

      Maureen sent me a link to a woman at Two Peas In A Bucket who showcased Perfect Pearls and water. Awesome stuff. I keep forgetting that it is Pearl Ex that needs the fixative and not Perfect Pearls. Oh well. I needed to get dressed anyway 😉

      When I watch other people playing with their toys and I find I don’t have the same stuff I made myself a bit crazy in the head trying to figure out how to do what they did with the stuff I have. Most times I just get side tracked and off on a different tangent all together. Maybe I can blame it on the chemical fumes from Carissa’s Birthday present that MIGHT still be lingering around 😉 Ya think?

      Thank you Lynn, I appreciate your suggestions and ideas of what you do. Fun, fun, fun.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

