Homemade Stickles

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is one of those crafting sessions where one thing lead to another.  More like “I wonder what would happen if…..”

It started with using Presto Patterns Paper, the Island Floral die, and Stampin’ Pastels chalks.  I thought the edges needed a bit more oompha.  I was using the Craft Mat Maureen had given to me already.

With the Pretty In Pink Stampin’ Spot I smooshed a patch on the craft mat and squeezed a dab of Glossy Accents in the ink then smeared it around with a toothpick.  That resulted in a pink mixture that applied well to the edges of the die cut pieces of the flower.  I then went on to  using the Garden Green and Summer Sun ink spots to work on the other pieces.

I cleaned up after each application and it all came right off the craft mat with no problems.  That got me to thinking about adding glitter in the mix.  Knowing that Glossy Accents will dry out and become really hard in time I chose to leave the glitter out of the mix and only add it as I needed to apply it.

I had stamped the Notably Ornate image on a coin envelope and it looked like it needed to be gussied up a bit so why not try it on that?  If it failed then I had not lost much and had learned something in the process.  You can watch the video below to see how this experiment progressed.

Personally, I would not advise mixing up a batch with the Glossy Accents or Crystal Effects and trying to store them.  The glue dries after a while and becomes totally hard.  While it stays liquid in the original container I have no idea what would happen if you mixed in drops of ink for color and added the glitter.  It might separate and the results would be a solid mass in a bottle.

As to the question of using Craft Inks in this type of application I would think they would work better than the Classic Inks since the Craft Ink has a longer “wet” time.  This “scientist” did not do her own “diligent trials” in this experiment and pretty much did things as usual – by the seat of her pants.

As to the question of how much ink to use on the craft mat?  I smooshed out enough that I could see it on the mat and have no idea how much I used.  The next question would be using drops of ink with the glue and I don’t have an answer for that one either.

All I can affirm is what I have done and had success with.  The rest will have to wait until later OR until I hear from you other “Scientists” what your results had been.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 17:37:06

    Love your experimenting 🙂 So much fun isn’t it? Those flowers look lovely with the coloured glossy accents and the home made stickles makes that flourish! Love it all, keep up the good work!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn
    xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 09:23:33

      Thank you Lynn, indeed that was fun. That Craft Mat is really something and I’m very thankful to Maureen for giving it to me. I really like the way the flowers turned out. Someday I will be rid of that crazy fear of flowers and glitter, one can only hope anyway.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Jan 27, 2011 @ 17:03:03

        Well Leslie for someone that has a fear of flowers and glitter you do a good job with them 🙂 I think you use them in just the right proportions, not overdone but tastefully.

        Hugs and love
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 28, 2011 @ 16:46:15

        Thank you Lynn. I look at my flowers and they bear no resemblance to all the beautiful flowers I see on YouTube. I’m getting better at using sparkly stuff and the flowers. Maybe in time…..
        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

