First Edition Paper

First Edition Paper

First Edition Paper

Sale-A-Bration begins today and runs through March 31, 2011.  This is the time of year when EVERYONE gets to be the Hostess and receive FREE stuff from Stampin’ Up! when you purchase $50.  Stamp sets and more are available to you during this time.

Get one (1) FREE item from the Sale-A-Bration group with your purchase – before taxes and shipping – of $50.  Get two (2) FREE items with $100 and so on.  With a $150 purchase (before taxes and shipping) you get three (3) FREE items from Sale-A-Bration PLUS you get the Hostess Benefits and $15 to shop.  Remember that I do offer Appreciation Points with every $10 purchase you make from my Stampin’ Up! Website toward more FREE stuff.

First Edition Specialty Paper from Stampin’ Up! is my answer to tearing pages out of books.  Jann Gray-Saulsberry of WhatYouMakeIt on YouTube was the first crafter I’ve watched use pages from books to add in her scrapbook pages and cards.  I don’t like tearing pages out of books but I do like the look of the printed words.  It’s exciting, to me, that she is blogging once again and I can add Jann’s blog to my daily ritual of finding out what is happening outside my door.

I love to pilfer ideas from other people when I see something they do that I want to try.

Flowers made from First Edition Papers

Flowers made from First Edition Papers

Here is an example of my pilfering.  I saw a YouTube video over the weekend of making these flowers and I got so excited I left without writing down the woman’s name nor her YouTube channel and I’m having a difficult time finding her to give proper credit.  Do you have any idea how many videos are posted demonstrating the fan flower?

This all started with Lynn Claridge in the UK when she showed some crafting she had done.  Next was Shelly Makowski’s blog entry with the flowers she made.  Both of these women have made stunning flowers and I wanted to give it a try.

Not having done this before I had some major difficulty in getting the strips of paper joined and made into the flowers.  You can see all the trouble I had in making the first flower by watching this video.  You will also see how I glittered the edge of the blue one, courtesy of that woman I can’t seem to find.

Flower Trials

Top Note Die

Top Note Die

This First Edition Paper is really great to use in die cutting also.  This is the Top Note Die made exclusively for Stampin’ Up!  Spray it with Glimmer Mists or your own home made sprays, apply ink with sponges to give it an aged effect, pile on the flowers and glitter.  Your creativity is the start of great things.

This paper comes in a pack of 16 pages and measures 12 x 12.  There are four different types of printed pages.  The same design is on the front and back of each page.  There are four (4) pages of each type.  I have found that using the paper punches with this paper can be troublesome at times, it doesn’t want to cut properly.  Lynn suggested using repositionable adhesive on another piece of paper and adhering this to it then use the punch to get better results.

Tulip Die

Tulip Die

I’ve used the Tulip Die and edged it with Close To Cocoa ink, placed it on a piece of Close To Cocoa card stock and backed it with Basic Gray card stock.

This First Edition Specialty Paper looks good in all of your projects.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 18:10:14

    Leslie think this is the lady you were looking for http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InIATUy6gjc&feature=feedlik

    Love this first edition paper too

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 25, 2011 @ 22:31:35

      Yes, thank you thank you thank you. I looked for about three hours and could not find this video at all. I appreciate you finding it for me and I’ve put her YouTube name in my video to give her credit. I feel so much better, whew!
      Thank you so much Lynn.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 17:27:05

    You are very welcome Leslie 🙂

    Hugs and Love
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

