Presto Pattern Paper

Presto Pattern Paper

Presto Pattern Paper

I’ve been working on February’s Crop and Scrap Club offering.  The kit will not include these papers.  There will be other exciting Designer Series Paper, along with some office supply items that can be altered in the creation of the mini album.

My finger tips are multi-colored and will probably be that way for several days….or until I have to have my hands in soapy water for quite a while.

This is the paper that I was so excited about last fall then had to turn my craft room upside down just to find where I had put it.

Presto Patterns Paper is white with clear embossed images that can only be seen when held at an angle to a light source.  To bring the pattern out I’ve used Not Quite Navy, Real Red, and More Mustard Classic Inks applied with a sponge.  I’ve also spritzed it with my “home made shimmer mixtures” of the same colors as the inks.

I gave Lynn’s Fantasy Film a try.  You can see the results in the two butterflies.  One is Fantasy Film and the other is the Angelina Fibers.  Also, in the square embellishment I used the Fantasy Film over a rubber stamp and tucked it behind a piece from the Hodge Podge Hardware set.  Half pearls and rhinestones are from Stampin’ Up!  The wire for the butterfly bodies is from my stash.

Grid Card Technique

Grid Card Technique

Using another piece of the Presto Patterns Paper, I gave Lynn Claridge’s “Grid Card Technique” a try.  Once again using the Not Quite Navy, Real Red, and More Mustard Classic Inks.  The stamp sets are Tiny Tags from Stampin’ Up! and a couple stamps from a retired set by Stampin’ Up! named Earth Elements.

Thank you Lynn for the tutorial on the Grid Card on YouTube (liveupstairs) and the encouragement to give it a try.  I’ve got to do something with that bird.  It is too white and needs some kind of sparkle 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 11:44:20

    Oh that is beautiful Leslie. Love the little pendant and the fantasy film fits the bill just right there. The little butterflies are pretty too and then you went on to do a grid card:) Love it all.
    If you think the bird is too white just give it a light touch of colour with one of the inks you were using. I think it looks great and makes a lovely ‘look at me’ statement!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:36:16

      Thank you Lynn. I figured I’d get a grin out of you for finally doing your Grid Card technique. Once I got enough of the sticky off of the tape it worked pretty good.

      That Fantasy Film was a trial to work with. The videos don’t tell how hot to make the iron and how long to leave it on the parchment paper over the stamp. One video I watched for the Angelina Fibers said a Silk setting and three seconds only but I had my iron turned up to Polyester setting and did a bit more than the three seconds. I really like stamped image in the square thing. That did turn out very pretty and shiny.

      Thanks for all of your inspiration and motivation :o) I had fun over the last couple days. Have you posted anything new to your blog? I’m off to check on it now.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 11:46:05

    PS Forgot to say that I love that paper and the colour combo works well together. Beautiful, beautiful paper.

    Hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 12:38:49

      Thank you Lynn. The paper is truly beautiful. Just think of all the things to do with it. Water coloring, drops of ink in water and bathing the paper to tint it, chalk for subtle color, more spritzing with Glimmer sprays, oh my goodness so much to try and do.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 02:12:41

    Lovely artwork Leslie. The butterflies are stunning Love the wire bodies. Is the frame at the bottom hodge podge hardware? I have some of them and always forget to use them. The gridcard is very pretty also. Love the it turned out.

    Happy craftin 🙂
    Hugs and love,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 13:48:02

      Thank you Shelly. Yes, the frame at the bottom is from the Hodge Podge Hardware. I had to use some Sticky Strip to attach the Fantasy Film inside. The Grid Card was quite a bit easier than I thought it would be. The stamp set I used with the butterflies included the “body” of the butterfly but it was way too small to be seen. Had to get the wire out to make it bigger 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

