Filled With Love Stamp Set

Charlotte, my neighbor across the street, has been very busy on my behalf.  GULP!

She attends a local church that has “Ladies Night” on Fridays.  The women get together and play games, have a pot luck dinner, and have fun.  Charlotte mentioned the cards she and Hugh made last week and the fun she had when she attended Wednesday nights prayer meeting.  Last Saturday she invited me to attend the upcoming Ladies Night and it sounded like fun.

Charlotte called me yesterday morning to let me know the ladies are all excited to make Valentine cards for the Nursing Home.  WHAT!?  Well I had to get in gear and get something going.

Love card

Love card

Heart card

Heart card

These are the cards I have designed for the ladies to make.  Can you believe it?  The “Love card” has GLITTER!  The cards measure 4″ x 5″ (4″ x 10″).

Filled With Love stamp set

Filled With Love stamp set

Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder

Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder

The Filled With Love stamp set  is sold in a bundle until January 24, 2011.  Wood mount or clear mount sets are available.

Texture is added with the Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder.  From the Occasions Mini catalog the patterned paper used is Springtime Vintage, there is 100% cotton fabric that matches this paper, also.  The card bases are made from Ridinghood Red 12 x 12 card stock and Basic Black 12 x 12 card stock.  Scallop Edge Border punch is used on the “Love” card, and the 3/16″ Corner Rounder punch is used on the “Heart” card.  The inks I’ve used are Basic Black and Real Red Classic inks.  Ribbons used are 1/8″ Real Red Taffeta and 1/4″ Basic Black Grosgrain.  A touch of sparkle on the “Love” card comes from Dazzling Diamonds glitter.  The heart brad is from my stash.

I am looking forward to this evening with the ladies.  I’ll finally get to try out my teaching skills to someone else besides myself 🙂

On a much sadder note, my Upline – Gayle – has been spending her days since Christmas Eve in the ICU where her husband is being looked after and treated for a brain hemorrhage.  I will spend a couple hours with her this afternoon before she goes back to her post beside her husband.  My prayers are with the both of them.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 09:38:09

    Yay for you Leslie! You’ll have so much fun! Oh…I wish I could be there! I would love to be your assistant or bag lady or something! lol I’ll be there in spirit cheering you on! You’ll do a great job! I can’t wait to hear all about it!
    Your cards look wonderful! How many ladies will there be? I’m sure it will end with cake or other goodies too! haha
    I’m so sorry to hear about what your friend Gayle and her husband are going through. I too, will be praying for them, and for you as you spend some time with her today!
    Love & prayers,
    Nancy 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:06:54

      Nancy, I’d love to have you as my assistant!! That would be so much fun. When I get scared and my brain freezes up on me I’ll remember you are there with me and it will all be good 🙂 Thank you for that.

      Charlotte said there might be as many as 20 of them so I’ve made up 11 kits of each card. Plus I better pack up some tools and supplies just in case there are more that show up. You mentioned you love Lemon Bars….well Hugh is making them for this get together. Total bummer that you won’t be able to attend 😦 Yes, I know “Rub it in will ya!”

      Thank you for your proffered prayers for Gayle and her husband. Times like these are when I beat myself up on being so narcissistic. I’ve been home this whole time focusing on me and my world that I have not even thought about calling Gayle to let her know I’m home and ready to get things going. I would have known there was a problem and she would need to have someone to just listen and be supportive. 😦
      Love you Nancy – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Nancy
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:19:19

    Leslie! You really must stop beating yourself up about all this nonsense about focusing only on yourself and your own world! It’s just a lot of silly jibber-jabber, you know! What about all of us? You have been very giving…of your time and talents and comments and love…with all of us! Did you not just deliver some lovely gifts? Didn’t you spend some time with some friends and neighbors! Exactly! So please cut that out, okay? I don’t want to hear any more of it! Consider yourself lovingly reprimanded 🙂
    Love you!
    Nancy 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 12:06:26

      EEEEEYOWWWW! A butt whoopin’ from Saskatchewan all the way down to Oklahoma!!! Yes Ma’am!

      Thank you Nancy. I sure did need that. A different perspective of what I have been doing with everyone. Thank you, thank you, thank you. 🙂

      Loving reprimand received and duly noted :o)
      Love you so much – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:47:25

    This is great news! They will love making the cards. Sounds like you have a good plan with making up a bunch of kits ahead of time. Maybe you could go several times a year, or even monthly. That would be a wonderful opportunity to showcase your talent and your business. Make up a batch of those chocolate boxes/business card holders, and use them as door prizes. Cheap door prizes might also be a kit with everything already stamped and punched – you know, like a card kit that’s so easy to put together that their child could do it. You could print out on printer paper a picture of the completed card, rather than instructions. Let them know that you would be glad to meet in their homes for a “home card party” for a small fee. At the party you could offer a discount on the purchase of whatever stamp set you were showcasing.

    Don’t stress out too much – just share what you know, and have fun!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 12:16:53

      Great tips Maureen! I have a big bag of Tootsie Roll Minis that need to be put to better use than me digging my hand in the bag from time to time 🙂 I have a couple small wood mounted stamps. I was thinking of taking one along and giving it as a “Prize” for the “Best Love Story” if the women would share any of their personal stories.

      Maybe I could talk them into a once a month thing. Benefit everyone. Give me a chance to learn to speak in front of people and demonstrate/teach better and they will get to give to their charities and/or Nursing Homes.

      Last week I watched a video with Tony Robbins. He had a short lived television series that he helped families in crisis. He says in one of them that “You can’t ask God to guide you if you are not willing to take the steps”. Bonk on my head that was. So….as scary as the first step is I’m taking it off the cliff.
      Love you Maureen – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 17:21:12

    Another slap heading your way Leslie all the way from the UK to back up Nancy’s 🙂

    This is marvellous news for you and a great way to build up confidence and work out what tools you need and then streamline – at first you will take everything but the kitchen sink and then realise you don’t need to haul half that amount of stuff.
    Well done to Charlotte. We are all behind you Leslie backing you up and giving you moral support.
    Those are great tips from Maureen.
    Hope you save some of that Lemon Bar for our next coffee date 🙂

    So sorry to hear about what Gayle and her husband are going through.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 15, 2011 @ 12:53:07

      Thank you Lynn, I do appreciate the “Slap from the UK” 🙂 I spend way too much time with myself. Need to get out more.

      Yep, left the kitchen sink at home 🙂 It was nice to mingle and meet new people. Try out my teaching skills to people I don’t know. Hugh changed to lemon flavored cookies which were good. There were sugar cookies with lots of frosting on them….they and other frosting covered store bought cookies were consumed. Most of Hugh’s cookies made the trip back home 😦

      Thank you for your well wishes for KraftyKatsy and my friend’s husband. Very sweet of you.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

