Flowers and Candy

Flowers from Maureen

Flowers from Maureen

I had some errands to run on Monday.  When I arrived home there was a note hanging from my door knob.  A delivery had been attempted and was left with my next door neighbor – not Hugh he is across the street.

Thank you Maureen.  These flowers are beautiful and I so appreciate your friendship.  Without getting into the whole sordid story, Pati has decided to opt out of my life and I handled it really badly.  In my paranoia I thought I had lost a friend in the process and had to find out.  So THANK YOU many times over, Maureen, for your friendship.

Candy boxes

Candy boxes

If anyone would like to have the pattern for these boxes I will have it in the “Template” section of my blog.  You can find it at the top right.

After some trial and error, and about five test boxes, I came up with the right size.  They are very easy to construct – after the first couple you do – and use up papers you and not totally “IN LOVE” with.

Save the larger pieces you cut off of one side – you’ll see in the diagram where it is marked with an “X”.  Use those pieces for the note you apply to the top of the box.

Scored and cut out

Scored and cut out

This is the results after scoring and cutting.  The box measures 4-1/2″ wide and 9″ tall.  The wrapper or “Belly Band” for the Hershey Nuggets measures 3″ long by 1″ wide and can be cut from the 3″ x 12″ scraps that will be left over from the 12 x 12 paper.

This box holds five (5) of the Hershey Nugget chocolate candies.  I have found that the process is easier to do when you are creating many of these to do it in steps.

Cut all the papers you want to use into 4-1/2″ x 9″ lengths first.  The scoring is really great with a scoreboard of some kind.  I broke down and purchased one from the craft/hobby store.  In the tedium of scoring these I did make a few mistakes and go down the wrong measurement.  It is easily fixed BEFORE cutting.

I made all the cuts next.  The pattern I created has dash lines for folding and solid lines for cutting, along with “X” marks of the pieces that will be removed.  Some of the score marks were difficult to see with some of the paper patterns.  Those I folded the score marks to have a visual guide of where to cut.

Once the pieces are all cut, the next process is folding on the score lines and adding adhesive to the tabs that help shape the box.  This might be a family project with children if you desire to make a bunch of these for your children’s classmates when Valentine’s Day nears.

Today is delivery day of the Post-It-Note holders I made, along with a few other errands.  So hopefully I will have enough of the candy boxes to spread around as I go about “leaving my business card”.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 11:15:27

    Beautiful project Leslie ,
    Maybe I will get to try some out. The flowers are very lovely. Sorry about your happenings I hope you are doing ok I’m here if you would need me. I am loving your creations and look fkoward to yournew posts.

    Take care
    Love you,
    shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 20:59:33

      Thank you Shelly for being there when I need you, and yes I am doing okay. I’m over the “wanting to kill her” stage so that is progress. The boxes are really fun, a bit time consuming but fun. All that crazy Stampin’ Up! paper that I’ve been hiding away because I don’t really care for the look of it has finally come in handy and it is now mostly outta here. Now I won’t feel so guilty to order more paper :-). As far as new creations go….I’m working out a couple things and hope to be able to get them finished soon.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 18:27:54

    Beautiful flowers from Maureen. Whyever did you think you had lost a friend in all that fall out?
    So what did they all think of your gifts?? I bet they were delighted.
    The stacks of boxes look truly professional and business like, I shall go and download your template as I like to have different sized boxes to hand. We can’t buy candy in such regular shape as the Hershey’s nuggets, we do have small bars but they aren’t so easy to make decorative ‘belly’ bands for as they aren’t wrapped so nicely.
    So glad your production line worked out because they do look handsome 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:14:36

      One really bad thing about all this blogging I do is that I have an upside down life now and I seem to spend so much time here. I totally love you girls and the friendship we have. So when one goes missing for quite a while and it coincides with a major nasty event….well I have a real bad tendency to put 2 and 2 together and come out with 5.

      Thank you for your comment on the candy boxes. I finally got to use the Stampin’ Up! papers that I really didn’t like and could not bring myself to throw away. The candy situation you mentioned, I just can’t wrap my head around the fact that other countries do things differently. I’m usually finding myself being the first three letters of “assume” all the time.

      Handing out the Post-It-Note Holders was a real treat for me. The oooohs, aaaahs, and hugs made me feel good. The smiles were even better. Now I know these people are aware that Joe and I appreciate them and that makes me feel good.

      I think you will find some things to create and put in the little boxes. When you do, I wanna see 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

