Post-It-Note Holders As Gifts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You may have seen the offering I have for January Gift Club Central and thought it was not something you’d use.  Personalizing the Post-It-Note holder for the recipient, or yourself, is the next step once you know how to construct one.

The papers and embellishments used in the construction of these gifts ARE NOT Stampin’ Up! items.  My supply of Stampin’ Up! paper and embellishments is meager, to say the least.  While I have tons of other papers and things at my disposal I was able to get some of that stuff out of my stash.

These are gifts of “Appreciation” to the dispatchers and office workers at one of the companies I drive for in my “Day Job” that takes me away from late spring to fall.  They hear all the whining, and have to patiently listen to the blistering phone calls of upset drivers.  There’s is a thankless job but they return each work day for more of the same.

Amber and Leasa work in the Logs Department.  They handle our Driver’s Log sheets on a daily basis.  Trying to decipher the handwriting of the driver and discern where the lines on the logs have really been drawn.  Some of my own logs have had to have annotations placed so these women can figure out what I had actually written.  Day after day, they sit before a computer screen transferring the written log information into a program.  We leave off Load Numbers, our Driver ID numbers, forget to enter when we purchased fuel, and sometimes leave off the total miles driven for the day.  The program calculates our driving speed for the day and sometimes there is a problem.  If we don’t turn our logs in at the appropriate intervals we get placed on Suspension until the logs are turned in.  The crap they have to take from drivers that don’t do what they are supposed to do is terrible.  They get cussed out, screamed at, and blamed for the ills of the world.

Suzie has something to do with Payroll for the driver’s.  I’m not exactly sure what it is she does but I do know that when we call in to find out what our Settlement amount is Suzie is who we get sent to.  She takes crap from drivers that expected to have more money than what they actually were paid.

Lora is the “Safety Director”.  When there has been an accident or a problem at one of the State Weigh Stations, Lora is the one that handles all of that stuff.  When a driver doesn’t purchase a permit for a state, like Nevada, from outside sources (they are not sold at the Weigh Stations) and the driver gets stopped by the Highway Patrol and ticketed for not having a permit Lora gets to listen to the wrath of the driver.  When an official at a Weigh Station decides to do an Inspection and the driver has not kept their log book up to date and gets a ticket for that, Lora gets the phone call.

Danny is the head Dispatcher.  This poor guy never gets away from his job.  He has to take it home with him.  Available 24/7 for the drivers.  Some say they will be at a pick up point and don’t show up, others have a breakdown during the night or on a weekend, or are really upset because they have to drive so far away to the next load.  Danny and Tom (I’m working on Tom’s and have not finished it yet) are the only dispatchers for the Drive-A-Way division that Joe and I work for.  These two guys don’t have a personal life.

Karen does many things in her job.  Each driver is equipped with a cell phone to receive their dispatch orders.  This program works most of the time.  She has to deal with the driver that can’t get their dispatch on their phone –  mainly because they didn’t pay attention to her instructions – and she gets crap about the phones.  She also makes the flight arrangements for the drivers that are doing special work that requires them to use the airlines between jobs.  Karen makes the flight arrangements for the driver, only to find out that the driver has changed those arrangements without her knowledge and is now out of pocket money because they had to pay for the change of flight.

All the years I’ve known these people, I have been greeted warmly and I know some of their personal details.  These people have become friends.  I’ve wanted to do something for them for quite a while but have not known what to do.  I still have a couple more to work on and get finished.  I will be delivering these later in the week – and of course – along with some chocolate 🙂

I do hope my sampling of Post-It-Note Holders have given you some ideas on how to make them work for you.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:34:00

    I think my favorite thing about these is how you can move the spot for the Post It Note around to suit your embellishments and design. And the spot for the pen is great because it’s alway handy, and doesn’t interfere with the opening of the flap. I’ve seen some that actually form the closure for it, but I like that you can use it without removing the pen first.

    What a great idea to give it to your office folks. When they need to make a note while being bombasted with berating comments, they’ll remember that someone not presently in the room ACTUALLY thinks quite fondly of them! It will help to deflect the negative energy coming their way. Really thoughtful of you!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:10:48

      Thank you Maureen. I’m hoping they enjoy these and do think fondly of me, even when I am one of the contributing factors to their day 😦

      However, I’m hoping that I don’t have to go back on the road anymore….we’ll see. Have to make money so I can spend it on more crafty stuff 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Nancy
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:52:59

    Leslie, my friend, you are such a sweetheart! What lovely gifts you have made for these people who spend their days doing such difficult jobs! What a treasure you’ve made them! Like Maureen said…(Hi Maureen! 🙂 )…it will be a constant reminder that someone thinks fondly of them! A true gesture of appreciation! Good girl! 🙂

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 17:39:32

    They will adore and appreciate these Leslie and appreciate the fact that you know they are coping with dificult situations and have thought of them. That is a lovely thoughtful gesture and they will make their day.
    I have bought some packs of post it notes today so I’m going to have a go tomorrow as the weather is wet and windy and there is only so much housework a body can (or wants to) do 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 18:03:12

      Please, let me know if the instructions helped you. I will be delivering these on Wednesday….if the weather clears us by then. I’m all out of “Business Boosters” so finish the last gift then spend tomorrow putting together the chocolates. One for them and one for me…..sounds good to me 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Jan 12, 2011 @ 18:18:59

        Oh yes definitely one for you!
        The instructions are definitely clear and concise with very good step by step photography. I think I emailed you to the same effect 🙂 My one poor brain cell is not good at thinking!
        The note pad holder is now all made up and I will get photos taken of it and posted. I had to use stickers for the letters as I couldn’t locate my alphabet stamps but never mind!
        How did they all like the ones you made?

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:03:25

        I did get your email. Thank you Lynn. I did forget to put the dimensions of the note pad cover and where the score marks go. Sorry about that. The kits are already and I just plain left that part out. So glad you worked it out on your own. Pretty good “One brain cell left” you have there 🙂

        The ooohs, and aaaahs were fun to hear and the hugs were great, however the smiles were the best. I can’t wait to see what you have done with yours. How exciting 🙂
        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

