Handy Man Bulletin Board

My Son-In-Law’s birthday is tomorrow, November 12th.  I’m already late on getting this to him but I hope he will forgive me when he finally gets it.

I had asked my daughter what his favorite color was and what kinds of things he likes.   I told her I had planned on making him a bulletin board for his home office when he does the monthly budgeting, which he is really good at, by the way.  She told him what I was doing and asked what he wanted.  His response was “Red and silver.  Like Craftsman.”  First it threw me for a loop because she TOLD him what I was doing then I went all wonky because I had no idea what to do now.

I had planned on making his bulletin board on Lynn Claredge’s (liveupstairs) “Grid Card” thing.  I was going to have a photo of Carissa and Jaime attached to the cork then have little thought bubble like things all over the board with things they are planning and thinking about.  A desired trip to Italy, a cruise to some exotic port, a new house.  Well…that idea was now out of the picture.

Handyman Bulletin Board

This is what I came up with.  Since he desired “Craftsman red and silver”, I’d give him something sort of like he wishes.

The papers used on his cork board are all retired Stampin’ Up! “Thoroughly Modern” and Real Red textured 12 x 12 card stock.

I’ve used the White Gel Pen on the face of the tool box in a couple places.  You will see where in the photos later in this post.

I have used some embellishments I had to get from a local craft/hobby store since I don’t have stamps of these images.  I’ve also used foam core board to strengthen the embellishments for using as push pins as I’ve designed them to be.

I’m surprised this turned out to be fairly simple to do.  Once I got off my “High Horse” and came back down to the real world then the wheels began turning.

Image from the internet

I went to a well known tool internet site and looked at the images of their tool boxes.  They all looked pretty complicated and I was not sure how I was going to do this.  I hit on this tool box.  Dragging the image to my desk top I selected the print option on my computer and chose to make this image 8 x 10 and to fit the entire page.

Once I had that printed out to a good size I went into my room and began to seriously think about what I was going to do.

First, I used Repositional Adhesive on the outer edge of the paper and secured the image to a  self healing mat I have.

Craft knife to cut pieces out

"Drawers" placed on black card stock

Using a craft knife I cut the image into pieces that would be placed on the Real Red 12 x 12 textured card stock and on Basic Black 8-1/2 x 11 card stock.

This was a bit of a challenge for me, since I’ve not done this before, and I was not sure where to begin so I just “winged” it.

Shading the card stock

Using the image as a guide in shading

I carefully cut the copy paper image so I could fold it away and use a Sponge Dauber and Chocolate Chip ink to do the shading on the “lid” of the tool box.

Folding the copy paper back in the areas to be shaded is the technique I used.  The results were pretty good.

Highlighting with the gel pen

Highlighting and shading completed

Using the white gel pen and the Chocolate Chip ink I did the shading and definition of the lid and highlighting of areas.

Really, this is quite easy to do.  Fold the copy paper back to the desired area and do your rubbing with the ink or lightly trace the area with the gel pen.  By this time I was beginning to feel less out of my depth and getting more stoked about what I was attempting.

Marking the drawers and the handles

Scoring the area of the handles

Marked and ready to paint

Using my ruler I placed it on the lines of the copy paper image and then pulled it away from the card stock.  Using the gel pen to mark the “drawer” definition and the Bone Folder to mark the area to be painted with silver acrylic paint for the drawer handles was not very hard to do.

Test fitting the pieces

Making sure I have not missed anything before it gets glued

After I was done with the shading, highlighting, and painting I gave these pieces a “test fit” to make sure they would all assemble together and look somewhat like the original photo did.

Looking pretty good right now, so it is time to get the cork board/bulletin board ready to mount papers and this piece pattern thing I just finished.

Cork board/bulletin board

Papers attached and pattern piece adhered

I mounted the “Thoroughly Modern” paper to the cork using Mod Podge.  The Creamy Caramel polka dot paper is supposed to be a “Peg Board” with the darker, Close to Cocoa paper as the frame.

Using Mod Podge I attached the tool box pieces to the red side of the board.  Looks pretty awesome, if I must say so myself 🙂

Sticker embellishments from the craft store

Reverse side of the embellishments

As I selected each embellishment I removed the foam tape from the backs of the pieces.  I would not be using it in this application.  It would just be in the way so the foam tape is carefully removed.

I’m going to be using some heavy duty adhesive to permanently stick these embellishments down so a bit of the foam tape left on the back is not going to cause a problem.

Trace around the embellishment on Foam Core board

Use a craft knife to cut the shape out of the Foam Core board

These embellishments are going to be push pins.  They need to be very sturdy and strong.  Chipboard is just not firm enough to keep from bending.  I’ve opted for 1/4″ Foam Core board.

Tracing the shape of the embellishment to the Foam Core board then cutting it out with the craft knife is what I am doing.  It is so much easier to use the craft knife when cutting on this stuff than scissors.  The scissors tend to pinch the Foam Core and alter the shape of it at the edges.

E6000 adhesive

Applied to the Foam Core board

I don’t want the embellishment to separate from the Foam Core so I’ve chosen to use E6000 adhesive.  This is the really strong stuff.

It is also quite strong smelling stuff.  You don’t need to use in a well ventilated room, and it is not going to make you “high” but it does have a very strange odor.  And it is kind of sticky slimy when you get it on your fingers.  Washes off your hands with soap and water.  Not sure if it will come out of clothing though so just watch what you are doing.

Marking the "Peg Board"

Everything has a place and everything in its place

Once I had all the embellishments mounted on the Foam Core board and they were finally dry, I took each piece to the “Peg Board” side of the cork board and drew around the embellishment with a Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker.

The cork board is now beginning to come together and look like what I had envisioned it to be.  🙂

Generic Push Pins

E6000 to adhere push pin

On the back side of the Foam Core embellishments I used the E6000 to attach the push pins to the embellishment.

The push pins are just generic ones I got from my craft/hobby store.

A good dollop of the E6000 on the push pin head then pushed down on the back of the embellishment and allow the adhesive to puddle around the head to seal it on.

Oops, that's not good

Much better

Mechanics in the truck dealerships we go to from time to time, to have a truck worked on, display photos of family and friends on the inside lid of their tool boxes.

I printed out some really cute photos of Carissa and Jaime on copy paper and attached them to 1″ square pieces of Foam Core board and E6000 adhesive.  As the adhesive was drying the black of the Foam Core began to bleed through the copy paper 😦  Not a good thing.  I printed the photos again but this time on Photo Paper and that was much better 🙂

Ta-Daaaa

Putting the remaining embellishments on the outside frame, I left the foam tape on them and used it to adhere the pieces to the frame.

This project took about three days to do.  It will take quite a bit less time on the next one because I won’t have a slightly panic stricken hole in my brain, nor will I be saying “How am I going to DO this?”

I sure hope Jaime likes this 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 01:11:24

    Another fantastic project Leslie 🙂 You are so talented This is such a unique idea. I love this whole thing. The toolbox is adorable you did a geat job putting it together. I had to have Brian take look at it He thought it was great also. I’m sure Jamie is sure to love it.
    Thanks for the very clear directions 🙂

    Hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 14, 2010 @ 08:15:25

      Thank you, very much, Shelly. I surprise myself by the things that I do. That sounds kind of lame but it is true. The racket that is going on in my head when I begin EVERYTHING new is so loud. The tool box was panic attack worthy. Looking at the picture of the tool box I nearly quit right there and then. When I had the idea to cut the pieces out, individually, and work with it that way a whole new set of trash was going around in my head. By the time I put the pieces all back together the trash talk finally stopped and I felt so good about what I’d done. There are a few mistakes that are glaring to me but I have to tell myself that this was the very first time I’d ever attempted something so big and different.

      I hope Jaime likes it when he gets it. I still have issues with being “worthy” of giving my handmade gifts to people. It is getting easier to do. Cards….now that is a whole other set of difficulties for me. Someday I hope to be able to have an idea and the noise in my head is helpful with suggestions and ideas instead of “What are you thinking? You can’t do that! Whoa, another project you’ll likely never finish. You really going to give THAT to someone?” Working through my fear and doubt is more of a challenge than actually making the project! Someday….

      It is good to hear, from a man’s perspective, that the tool box idea is great. Tell your Brian “Thank You” from me. I do appreciate it very much.

      Hey, if I can inspire someone else to do something and they far exceed my efforts then that is a true bonus to me I’ve accomplished something worthy 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 16:07:33

    Oh wow Leslie this is brilliant, you are so creative, inventive and talented. Love your ideas and this project is a great idea. What is marvellous about handmade gifts from the heart is that they will never be seen in a shop because they aren’t mass produced. I’m betting Jaime will love this unique gift.
    I finally saw the comment about the Youtube video and have left a comment on Youtube about the truly beautiful gifts you have made for us all. I couldn’t believe that a friend had made something so wonderful for me. Never had that happen before. I showed Rod the video and he was most impressed and said what a lovely generous person you are 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 15, 2010 @ 07:50:13

      Thank you Lynn. I appreciate your comment on Jaime’s bulletin board. It challenged me in so many ways and it turned out to be quite fun. I still need to do your Grid Card. I am working on an idea for that. Hopefully, I’ll have it up by the end of the week.

      I’m so glad you like the tote bag. You and Nancy will be getting emails from me today. I went to mail everything, the bulletin boards and the tote bags, on Friday last. Didn’t have your address nor Nancy’s in my iPhone. Dolt! You have to know that the reason for the tote bags, not so much the tote bags themselves, is because you four have chosen to stick with my crazy other blog when you all could have just gone about your regular business while I was on the road. It has meant so much to me that you guys took the time from your days to read my prattle and make me laugh (most important thing), and to encourage me to just keep on “truckin” when I really wanted to be home.

      I’m so glad to know that you and your ailing family are on the mend, for the most part. The wee ones that have ear infections and are teething have it so rough. Can’t communicate except to fuss and cry. My prayers for you and your family is that everyone will be restored to good health. There are snowmen to be built and tricycles to be ridden around them. Can’t do that when ailing 🙂
      Love you Girlfriend

      Reply

  3. mrs. m
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 10:39:05

    very extensive…. paid off well though. great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

