Bulletin Board

 

Late Birthday present

This is a late birthday present for my California daughter.  Her birthday was October 3rd.  I was out with my “Day Job” when her birthday came and went.  She was really great about waiting until after I got home to finally get her present.

The outside measurements are 18″ wide x 11″ tall.  Inside measurements are 15-1/8″ wide x 8-1/8″ tall.

The paper used on the cork face is a retired Designer Series Paper called Cottage Wall.  I’ve used various sizes of scraps to fill the space.

 

Naked bulletin board

This is how it started out life.  I found two of these at a discount store while I was out running errands.  My Son-In-Law has a birthday coming on November 12th and I have to get cracking on his also.

With  my limited time at home I’ve foregone the Christmas gifts and have concentrated on only birthdays.  There are so many people in my family that trying to make 26 Christmas  gifts in a month is more than I can handle by myself.  So I’ve opted for birthdays.

NEARLY everything is Stampin’ Up! products.  There are some things from my stash.

My daughter, Heidi Jo, is a “girly girl” and this was a bit of a challenge for me.

 

Die cuts and Paper Daisies

More die cuts and Paper Daisies

The die cut pieces of the flowers (bottom left and top right on the frame) are from two retired sets of papers.  I’ve used the scraps left over from other projects.

 

Wire and beads

Letter beads

The wire and beads are from my stash.  I felt the frame needed more than just the flowers at the corners.  Looked kind of empty.  I wanted to personalize it for her without going “over the top”.  Balance is what I was going for and trying to stick with the “Rule of Three”.  Having the wire and beading to cover the bottom and right edges was a compromise that I came up with.

 

Feathers and more beading

The flower, feathers, and beads are from my stash.  Don’t tell Joe, but I snuck in  his room and “borrowed” a pair of his needle nosed pliers to work with the wires that hold the beads.  This is a new foray into crafting that I’ve seen done on YouTube and have been a bit skittish to try.

There are Stampin’ Up! ribbons the beading is dangling from.

This flower and the beading is at the top left of the frame.

The construction was simple (fairly simple) after I selected the paper I would use.  Mod Podge was used on the cork and again on the back of the paper for adhesion to the cork.  I put a cover coat on the paper, as well, to make it look shiny.  The frame was painted with a gold acrylic paint from my stash.  There is something on the frame that caused the acrylic paint to have a crackle look in places.  I covered the acrylic paint and top part of the frame with Triple Thick Gloss Glaze for durability.  All of the embellishments are secured with E6000.  Just in case the bulletin board takes a header for the floor, a time or two, and stuff won’t fall off.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 16:18:54

    Love this Leslie, so many things included, beading, flowers, ribbons, papers, paints and love that you found it had an occasional ‘crackle’ effect too! This will beautiful on any wall.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 08, 2010 @ 19:49:55

      Thank you Lynn. This was really easy and quite fun, indeed, to make. If you have not already, please go to my YouTube channel….boknstet….I have a video up “Thank You To My Girls” and I’ve made something for you. It will be in the mail by Friday of this week.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

