Heat & Stick Powder

Glittered Dasher

Have you heard about Heat & Stick Powder?  Since I’m not much of a “Glitter Gal” I did not know there was such a thing.  Several months ago I purchased some, mainly because other people were ordering it (and yes I’d probably jump off a bridge along with everyone else), and it has sat on my desk since then.  I move it around instead of putting it away.

This time I decided to give it a try.  Hadn’t a clue what I was doing or how it works.  After doing some half hearted research I found that you use it, basically, the same way you use VersaMark and any embossing powder.

I have a video that shows how I used the Heat & Stick Powder on this card along with Clear Embossing Powder.

I’m still a child of fantasy at heart.  I still believe in Santa Claus and his reindeer.  The Dasher stamp with his magical antlers needed to have some kind of sparkle going on.  This was the time to use the Heat & Stick Powder and give it a try, see how difficult it is to work with.

In this card I inked the entire stamp first with VersaMark then followed it up with Chocolate Chip ink.  I applied the Heat & Stick in the same manner as you would embossing powder.  The only difference is this stuff is a bit heat sensitive.  Too much heat and you dry the sticky properties, not enough heat and you have not enough sticky.  The trick I found was to heat it until it all became clear then QUIT.  Sprinkle the glitter of your choice over the area with the Heat & Stick, tap off the excess and then give it another shot of heat for just a little bit.

Since I was using clear embossing powder on Dasher, while I heat set the embossing powder I gave the Heat & Stick another shot of heat at the same time.  That set the glue and the glitter is adhered, won’t fall off when touched.

On this card I learned two things.  I can, if careful, use two different products on one image.  That was fun.  Later I made another card with Dasher and used silver embossing powder on his antlers and clear embossing powder on his Chocolate Chip body.  That was fun!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 16:54:20

    Great card Leslie and the powder has worked brilliantly to give Dasher some lovely glittery antlers. Love the textured card and ribbon too.

    Hugs and love
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 04, 2010 @ 17:28:35

      Thank you. These cards were easier to make than the ones I’ve done previously. I really don’t care for them at all. Progress includes many mistakes and errors, right?
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

