2 Sheets – 4 Cards (12×12)

Here are the cutting directions for this set of cards using two (2) sheets of 12″x12″ card stock.

Both pieces of card stock will be cut EXACTLY the same.  Cut them one at a time or cut them both stacked if your trimmer will handle it.  A video of the cutting directions is post.

FIRST CUT:  Place the card stock in a trimmer large enough to handle 12″x12″ paper.  Align the left edge to the 7″ measurement and cut straight down so you have two pieces.

SECOND CUT:  Using the paper still on our trimmer, the 7″ x 12″ piece, turn it horizontally and trim at the 10″ mark.  This paper, on your trimmer bed, will be the 7″ x 10″ card base.  Remove this and set it aside.

THIRD CUT:  Take the 2″ x 7″ piece you just trimmed off and lay it horizontally on your trimmer bed.  Cut this piece at 5″.  You will have a 2″ x 5″ piece, and a 2″ x 2″ piece.  Set these aside.

FOURTH & FIFTH CUT:  Now working with the 5″ x 12″ piece, place it horizontally in your trimmer and cut at 10″ and then again at 7″.

The remaining 5″ x 7″ piece will be the second card from this first piece of card stock.  Score the center of the 10″x7″ card stock at 5″, then score the 7″x5″ card stock at 3-1/2″.

Do this all over again with our second piece of card stock, if you did not stack them and trim them together.  You will have two card bases, six strips of 5″ long and 2-3″ wide pieces, and two 2″x2″ squares.

The papers I’ve used are Summer Sun, Creamy Caramel, and Really Rust.  I’ve also used, as background paper, Bella Bleu Designer Series Paper which is no longer available for purchase.

This card making business is a bit tricky.  Having spent several years on a learning curve for making scrapbook layouts, now I find myself faced with another learning curve for making cards.  I made a glib comment one time to my sister, Pati, telling her that card making is just a mini version of a scrapbook layout.  Boy was I off the mark on that one.  Maybe as I get more experience in making cards I will find a better comment to make to new card makers.

While I spent some time getting the cutting part down, well enough to video it and make sense of it all, I had no idea what I was going to do with the cards once it was time to work on them.

I have gathered a good bit of items from Stampin’ Up! to be able to create things using exclusively Stampin’ Up! products.  So much, in fact, that I was not sure where to even start.  So my first set of cards is hit and miss.  Mostly miss.  But it was “practice” and I figured out what I needed to do to make them more appealing.

You're Sweet

  • Card Stock Summer Sun and Really Rust
  • Scallop Trim Corner Punch
  • Rub-On – Chateau Bella (Clearance Rack)
  • Jewel Basic Pearls
  • 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie Taffeta Ribbon

This card I figured out how to use the Scallop Trim Border Punch and make it look straight.  There is so much empty space on the front of this card.  The elements seem to float around with no anchor.

Notably Ornate Stamp Set

  • Paper Summer Sun
  • Notable Ornate Stamp Set
  • Upsy Daisy Stamp Set
  • Chateau Bella Rub-Ons (Clearance Rack)
  • 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie Taffeta Ribbon
  • Scallop Trim Corner Punch

This is the card I experimented with the Corner Punch on.  I did not do such a good job with it.  Instead of punching through the two layers on the lower corners, as I had with the top two, I did not get the punch aligned right and they are a bit wonky.  Oh well.

I used the Notable Ornate stamp on the front of my sister, Pati’s”, journal I made for her.  Thought I’d give it a try again.  Alas, I stamped the image upside down 😦

Upsy Daisy Stamp Set

  • Paper used – Summer Sun, Whisper White, and Really Rust
  • Upsy Daisy Stamp Set – image and sentiment
  • Chateau Bella Rub-Ons (Clearance Rack)
  • Scallop Trim Border Punch
  • 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie Taffeta Ribbon
  • Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder

This card I experimented with Shelly’s (tachar) technique of using Versa Mark, ink, clear embossing powder, and the embossing folder.  I like how this card came out, I still feel there is just a bit of something missing.  Not sure what it is.

Cafe Matutino Stamp Set

  • Paper used – Summer Sun, Whisper White, Really Rust
  • Ticket Corner Punch
  • Wide Oval Punch
  • Modern Label Punch
  • Cafe Matutino Stamp Set
  • Notable Ornate Stamp Set
  • Stampin’ Write Markers
  • Blender Pens
  • 2-Way Glue Pen
  • Dazzling Diamonds

This poor card, although cute, is just lacking in something.  I like it, but I’m not “over the moon” with it.

Once again, doing the cutting for two more sheets of 12×12 card stock and this time videoing it I had a bit of time to think about what I wanted to use from the first batch of these cards and what I wanted to not use again.  I knew I definitely needed some kind of background image to make these cards look more “finished”.

Stencil Magic

  • Paper used – Creamy Caramel, Really Rust, and Bella Bleu
  • Decor Stencil – Vintage Ornaments
  • Versa Mark
  • Clear Embossing Powder
  • Jewel Basic Pearls

This card was the easiest to make and, of course, the last one I did.  The stencil worked well with the Versa Mark and I’d try this technique again.  I really like this card.  A video of creating this card is posted.

Blossom Party

  • Papers used – Summer Sun, Really Rust, Creamy Caramel, and Whisper White
  • Chateau Bella Rub-Ons (Clearance Rack)
  • Circle Fire Brads
  • 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie Taffeta Ribbon
  • Wide Oval Punch
  • Scallop Trim Corner Punch

The worst thing on this card was getting the ribbons tied in a knot.  That was a real chore and I wished I had a few more fingers to hold the ribbon down tight while I tried to make the knot.

I made a batch of “glimmer mist” using More Mustard Ink Refill, water, a touch of liquid hairspray, and Pearl EX.  The spritzer didn’t work.  It clogged up on me.  A video of creating this card is posted.

Cafe Matutino Stamp Set

  • Paper used – Really Rust, Creamy Caramel, Bella Bleu, and Whisper White
  • Cafe Matutino Stamp Set
  • Upsy Daisy Stamp Set
  • Stampin Write Markers
  • Blender Pen
  • Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder

I had a difficult time getting the bitty stamps of the cups to stick to my clear block.  After having stamped the sentiment, I put the block over the piece of Whisper White and straddled the cups with the sentiment in between them.  The cup on the left kept coming off the clear block and I was inking it.  Drat and double drat.  A video of this card is posted.

Upsy Daisy Stamp Set

  • Paper used – Really Rust, Creamy Caramel, Whisper White, and Bella Bleu
  • Scallop Trim Border Punch
  • Tag Punch
  • 1/8″ Pumpkin Pie Taffeta Ribbon
  • Jewel Basic Rhinestones
  • Upsy Daisy Stamp Set
  • Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder

I did a demonstration of Shelly’s technique with the Versa Mark, Stampin’ Ink, and clear embossing powder on video.  Turned out pretty good, except I put the paper wrong in the embossing folder.  Oh well, it still worked.  A video of making this card is posted.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with all of my results.  I’ve learned quite a bit and I’m getting more confident in making cards.

Alas, play time is over and I have to get “back on my head”.  Seems I will be working through October instead of being able to start being home then.  So…until next time….hope you have “Inky Fingers” 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Claridge
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 17:15:50

    Now I am going to add some comments here Leslie that I hope don’t offend but you seemed to ask for some regarding the cards.
    Here goes: Card 1 – I think continuing the flower border top and bottom of the front of the card would add to it.

    Card 2 -Love that design especially the silhouette flowers however perhaps an extra matt perhaps of white card to lift/divide the coloured card and tie in with the flower border?

    Card 3 – I think the card may have looked better smaller length ways so that the image could be moved up a little and the sentiment placed as is. Loved the elements especially the teacups but just think there is too much space.

    By the time you got to the other cards you had got into the swing of things and they are all good especially love the last card.

    Hope we are still friends after my comments Leslie 😦

    Hugs and love
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 04, 2010 @ 17:33:27

      You don’t worry about me running off because of a little criticism. It took me a moment to figure out what cards you were referring to. I totally agree, those cards are just a slap dash mess. I’m not a card maker but I’m learning by trial and error. My most recent ones, Thanksgiving and Christmas, are so much better. There is hope for me yet 🙂

      It was my website I was referring to having you take a look at and give some advice on. Thank you for checking up on this one 🙂 too. I do appreciate you and your opinion.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Lynn Claridge
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 17:13:20

    Stop putting yourself down Leslie! You do a great job with your cards and I’m still waiting to see what you come up with when you have a go at the grid card technique!
    You have so much talent and imagination – how about showcasing one of your boxes or treasure chests using Stampin Up products? It doesn’t all need to be cards 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 08, 2010 @ 08:29:29

      The grid card technique is “in the works” on a bit of a larger scale. I’m altering a bulletin board for my Son-In-Law’s birthday present.

      Thank you so much for your support and the “head slap” which is very much appreciated. I am so critical of my work and get quite surprised when other people don’t notice my mistakes 🙂

      I made a bulletin board with mostly all Stampin’ Up! stuff for my California daughter. I made a post about it here. You can see the size of the project I have in store for me with your “Grid” technique. Hope I get it done in time 🙂
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

