Using A Partial Stamp

Word Play Stamp Set

When I made the cards, referred to in the previous post, I wanted to make a Get Well card and I wanted to use a really pretty frame thing from the Hodge Podge set by Stampin’ Up!.

Problem was, this stamp is too big to fit in the frame thing.  I rooted around in my Stampin’ Up! stamps to find something appropriate and kept coming back to this stamp.  Everything was way too large, and one stamp was so small it would have looked lost in the frame thing.

What to do, what to do?  After about 20 minutes of agonizing over this problem I decided to just make do with what I had on hand and MAKE this work.

I’ll tell you what I did, you will probably need to watch the video to make sense out of my blatherings here.

I put the frame thing over the stamp and found what would fit within the “window”, decided what I was going to mask off and located my Post-It notes buried under a bunch of stuff I neglected to put away before I left town.

You can use this technique on a wood mounted or clear mounted stamp.  Just make sure, if you are using the clear mount stamp, that it is already on the block before you begin.  So much easier to do when it is nearly ready to go.  No inky fingers and blotched or smeared ink.

With the Post-It notes – two of them – I used one to cover up the “feel better soon” portion of the stamp and used the other Post-It note to cover over the “?”  Carefully I worked the stamp pad over the stamp, smearing on the Post-It notes which was alright, and got the image I wanted inked good.  Then I removed the Post-It notes and stamped on a piece of Whisper White.

Centering the stamped image inside the “window” of the frame thing I traced around the metal piece with a pencil and then cut out inside the pencil lines.  Turning the whole thing over, carefully, I used an embossing tool to mark the inside edges of the frame thing and  then cut the excess paper away.

Using two of the thin Pop Dots I rolled them between my fingers and created an elongated thin bit of adhesive and attached it to the inner part of the frame thing at the brad placement sides.  Stuck the Whisper White stamped image back into the frame thing and I had what I wanted.

Hodge Podge "frame" thing

No one knows that I don’t have the proper punch for this doo hickey, nor that the stamp really doesn’t come just like this.  Well, that is not true any longer.  You know what I don’t have and what I’ve had to do 🙂

Next time you are stumped on how to use the stamp you want but it won’t all fit where you want it….then try this trick.

Don’t let some little thing get the best of you.  There is, most always, a way of getting around a problem and making it work.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Toni
    Sep 03, 2016 @ 15:16:47

    Leslie, Wondering around in your blog I happened to run across this little goodie. I have wrestled with this problem for years!!! Couldn’t come up with anything short of cutting up my stamp but just could never quite do it. Now I know I don’t have to . Thanks.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 03, 2016 @ 15:42:47

      I had to go back and read the post you were referring to. I had no clue what you were talking about. Ahhhhhh, the multiple “thing” post. That was a prize winning post. I’m surprised the grammar police have not come knocking down my door for the offenses I committed in that one!
      Thank you, Toni. I’m glad you found a nugget of inspiration from that post. Enjoy the masking technique 😀
      Hugs – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

