Travel Journal

Composition Notebook

While out shopping at an office supply store I found some composition notebooks in a clearance rack.  Snatching up a few of them I had a vague idea of making a journal or a notebook out of them.

For months now they have been hanging in the store bag from a door knob, patiently waiting for me to do something with them.

Rita Hutcheson-Cobbs has a YouTube video on some altered composition notebooks she had created.  I love what she has done to them and it inspired me.

I had a couple concerns with making mine.  First, would I totally wrap the notebook in design paper or just go from the cloth spine outward?  Then the pocket thing in the front and back covers.  I really love the spaces that Rita made in her books but I was afraid of the bulk, or places for a pen to poke through the papers when writing on the back side of one of the pages.  I opted to keep the inside covers clear with no pockets.

My sister’s favorite color is pink, and she loves florals.  Trouble is, I have no pink paper with floral prints but I do have some out dated Bella Bleu that has a floral print.  I used the more neutral paper as the background so I could have a base for the colors to pop.

Notable Ornate stamp set

Stampin Write Markers

Matted image

I really like the Notably Ornate stamp set.  The framed ledger type image I wanted to use as the centerpiece of the front cover.

Using Stampin’ Write markers I colored in the frame to give the image some depth.

Using Cosmo glitter, I spread a bit of it around on the upper and lower medallions, and the flowers to the right and left.  Attaching one of the tiny pearls in the center of each flower gave it just a bit of dimension and added elegance.  Or something anyway.

The flowers I made yesterday, the alcohol and ink refill flowers, were really soft.  I was afraid they would get totally damaged within a day or two and it would ruin all the work I had done so far.  So I had to make some other flowers and I covered them with a clear product that would protect the flowers a bit more…I hope anyway.

Altered Composition Notebook

This is the completed altered composition notebook.

A bit of embossed paper using the Elegant Lines embossing folder and cutting close to the embossing then attaching the pieces to the outer corners of the book added a bit more depth and some tactile texture.

I inserted eyelets at the center and close to the edge of both the front and back covers to run ribbon through as a closure, adhering the ribbon under the stamped piece using Sticky Strip on both the front and the back to hold the ribbon in place.

A few feathers, some lace I have from a fabric shop and a small metal letter with an embossed “P” on the front to personalize this just a bit more for my sister, Pati.

I have created a video of this journal.  Not a tutorial this time.  Just a look at a mistake I made with the flowers, and a closer view of the products I’ve used and the placement of them.  Although this was a bit of a challenge for me I’m glad I did it.  The next journal will be easier to create now that the first one is done.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 16:00:31

    Nice new blog Leslie 🙂 The notebook for patti is beautiful you did a fantastic job altering it. Gotta click on the tutorial and check out the alcohol ink flowers. I had wondered about what is so special about the alcohol inks ? Are they like staz on ? or maybe a cross between water based and solvent ? guess I’ll need to do some research. Thank you for being so kind with your comments on my card I just wish the photo showed up the sparkle. Hope you are having a great Holiday ,We took the small ones hiking and rock searching by the river ,everyone is happy and tired just the way I like it there will be no protests at bedtime 🙂
    Love and Hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 22:17:14

      Alcohol inks behave a bit differently from regular inks. Especially on shiny papers like photo papers and plastics. I can’t say if they are like Staz On or not since I don’t use that – have it but don’t use it. I don’t know anything about solvent inks so I can’t answer that. I just know the alcohol inks have a sparkle to them and they feel a bit sticky to the touch until they dry.

      I was so disappointed that the sparkle didn’t show up on your card. In my email the picture was larger. When I copied it to my blog it came out so small. Sure wish I knew how to compensate for it and make it larger to show the sparkle. I love your card and can’t wait until you get your blog up and get your work up.

      I’m glad you and your family had a great time hiking and rock searching by the river. What fun out in the open air and doing something not normal, or usual. Makes for some really fun family memories.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

